Although I have to admit, “The Singing Bee” does fill me with murderous rage

August 24, 2007 at 11:09 am 4 comments

I read on CNN.com this morning about an evangelical Christian group called “Teen Mania,” that seeks to help teenagers resist the pressures of modern popular culture and guide them back onto God’s path. I’m not a very religious person, but I have to admit that there are far worse groups for kids to fall in with. I’d much rather encounter a group of teenagers high on God’s word than a group of teenagers high on whippets and cough syrup, ready to beat my ass in an alley for a cell phone and the 35 cents I usually keep in my wallet.  Although I did find this comment by Christian teen Jared Hutchins about The Beatles sort of…puzzling:

“‘I had to stop listening to them for a while,’ said Hutchins… He said the group’s world view ‘had a negative effect on me,’ and made him irritable and angry.”

Wait. We’re talking about The Beatles here, right? These guys?

evil-evil-evil.jpg

The only thing negative about this photo is the realization that my mom had John Lennon’s haircut throughout my entire childhood.

OK, well…I’ll give Hutchins the benefit of the doubt here, and assume he’s talking about the later years, with the drugs and  naked pictures with Yoko and such. But THEN, Hutchins goes on to say that he enjoys the music of Pink Floyd. As in:

nothing-to-see-here.jpg

“Ticket to Ride” vs. naked lady with flaming skull pulling a dead fetus out of her mouth. WWJD?

Later on in the article, Teen Mania’s founder Ron Luce weaves a gentle metaphor about secular pop culture and its effect on our nation’s teens:

“They’re raping virgin teenage America on the sidewalk, and everybody’s walking by and acting like everything’s OK.”

Wow. OK. I agree that our culture is fucked up, what with the absolute shit on network TV these days, jacked up ideas about body image, and the fact that Hollywood will spend millions of dollars to bring us images like this:

money-well-spent.jpg

You made him rich for this, America.

But comparing the influence of pop culture to rape? Jeez. Pull it in a little, Ron. We’re talking about US Weekly and “The Bachelor” here. Settle down.

Besides, there are signs that things are taking a turn for the better. Have you heard about the ban on baggy pants that some cities want to put into action? That’s definitely good news in my book. After all, if we start tightening our pants, can this majesty be far behind?

pants-of-tomorrow.jpg

I’ve seen the future…and it’s orange, tweed, and fabulous.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Pug in Tux, 1; Baby in Cocoon, 0 “I hated her SO much…that…it…it…flame – flames. Flames, on the side of my face, heaving… breath…heaving breaths. Heaving breath.”

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

