Hydrangeas ARE Pretty, And You’re Not Looking Too Bad Yourself

March 5, 2008 at 11:04 am 8 comments

Hey, Internet! I got tagged to do one of these list-y things! By an actual person who actually reads my actual blog (and I don’t even actually know her in actual life). Her blog? Hydrangeas are Pretty. And really, I can’t argue with that.

So thanks, pretty-pretty Hydrangea lady. I feel like tagging me is the internet equivalent of inviting me to sit at your lunch table in the cafeteria, and having been the new kid in school on more than one [awful, horrendous, scarring] occasion, I know what a kind gesture that can be.

cafeteria.jpg

Psst! Don’t trust that chick in the red shirt. She will totally tell everyone in gym class that you were the last girl in the 7th grade to get her period. GOD!

OK, so, here we go, in the copy-and-paste manner of things:

Make a list of 5 things that you have to get done this week (NON-Work related, no matter how small)

  1. Finish the shadowbox-jewelry shelf thing that I saw in a magazine, got inspired to make, and bought all the supplies for TWO MONTHS AGO. Try to ignore the fact that the above-mentioned magazine has actually stopped being published, that is how long I have dragged my feet on this project. Sigh.
  2. Get some preliminary ideas for the baby shower I will be hosting in May, which sounds so exciting right now, but will probably end in tears of rage, blown paychecks, and stress-related diarrhea.
  3. Finish reading The Well and the Mine; convince HoST that we need to name future child “Gin,” because that is possibly one of the most bad-assiest Southern names ever.
  4. Iron clothes, which I have been putting off for WEEKS. The completion of this one pathetic little task will expand my wardrobe tenfold.
  5. Try not to beat myself up when I fall asleep on the couch tonight (and every remaining night of the week) at 9:30, leaving my shelf unfinished, my shower unplanned, my book unread, and my clothes un-ironed. Those smug bears get to hibernate; why should I be denied?

And I tag:

A Girl and A Boy

– and –

CC

So…I guess these people just figure out through the magic of the internet that I’ve tagged them? Do I email them? Send them a card? Wake them gently in the night?

As you can see, tagging me for these things turns me into an 92-year-old woman trying to log into her AOL account.

gram-on-the-computer.jpg

Oh, heavens – this poor man in Nigeria needs my bank account number. I hope I can get it to him in time.


Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

End Times Are Nigh I Hear God Also Frowns on Illegal Left Turns, Under-Tipping and Neglecting to Flush

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shelli  |  March 5, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    yea! I’m so glad you played!

    As for the tag-ees? I just kind of waited, and then, if I didn’t hear back from you in a bit, I’d send a nudge, vis-a-vie a comment.

    And yeah – the chick in the red was my nemesis, too – except she told everyone that I was didn’t have a bra in the 5th grade, during the scoliosis tests.

    Fun times.

    Reply
  • 2. Laura  |  March 5, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    YAY. I love it when I see a plan coming together. I actively tag the tagees by leaving them a comment. I love the way meme’s lead me to read other blogs.

    Reply
  • 3. paperback writer  |  March 5, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I tagged myself. 🙂

    Five things I have to get done this weekend:

    1. My shadowbox thingy.
    2. My grad school application.
    3. My mix cd’s to send to people
    4. Laundry.
    5. Iron my work clothes.

    Reply
  • 4. jiveturkey  |  March 6, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Hey, paperback writer…wanna iron my clothes while you’re at it? Just checked over on your blog – hope you are feeling better.

    Reply
  • 5. Husband of Said Turkey  |  March 7, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Five things I have to get done this week:

    1. Jive Turkey’s shadow box.
    2. Help with baby shower planning.
    3. Agree with the name “Gin” for our baby but vow to find an even more badass Southern fried name.
    4. Iron clothes.
    5. Keep Jive Turkey awake at night.

    Reply
  • 6. confusedtwenty  |  March 10, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Ahoy hoy! I have responded to your meme on my site! Thanks for the tag, I feel totally liked!

    I so relate to the ironing bit. I neglected to iron my fiancee’s trousers yesterday but was polite to ask him it that was alright. He said he had other (ironed) trousers he could wear. I was estatic. Until on the way to work this morning, and I saw the GREEN trousers he had chosen and I thought to myself if only I had ironed his trousers yesterday to save him the embarrasement of walking into work in those. But then I was quickly absorbed into my paper so, meh.

    Reply
  • 7. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  March 10, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Five things I got done this weekend:
    1) saw my husband’s return to the stage – fabulous!
    2) made fun of my neighbors
    3) imbibed gin and tonics thereby fulling supporting the name Gin
    4) took two naps
    5) avoided all projects of any variety

    Reply
  • 8. Kat  |  March 29, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Truly popular people do NOT eat in the cafeteria. Take it from me. But great list anyways!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


