Cheers & Jeers: Back From Vacation Edition

May 20, 2008 at 10:50 am 5 comments

CHEERS:

  • None of my planes crashed, thanks in large part to the fact that I insisted on window seats, so I could monitor and mentally control each flight.
  • I did not get an ass-blistering sunburn, thanks in large part to the 500 gallons of sunblock I continually applied underneath my kevlar vest, cape, and beekeeping hat.
  • The hiking and yoga that gave me the perfect excuse to inhale obscene quantities of huevos rancheros and guacamole.
  • AirTran’s upgrade system, which allowed me to fly first class from Atlanta to Phoenix, and Phoenix to Atlanta. Not sure if you knew this, but FIRST CLASS = FREE BOOZE.
  • The warmth! The sunshine! The wide open blue skies! The denial of having to return to the land of 50-degree-highs and perpetual rain showers!

JEERS:

  • The woman behind me on my ATL-PHX flight who COUGHED COUGH-COUGH-COUGH-MOTHERFUCKING-COUGHED all over the back of my head for THREE AND A HALF FUCKING HOURS. Lady, if I hadn’t had such a mellow buzz from that cheap airline wine, I would have stuffed my SkyMall down your throat.
  • The three hour layover in Atlanta beginning at 5:30am, at which time the air conditioning in my terminal was set somewhere between “Popsicle,” and “March of the Penguins.”
  • The Douchebag McGees who had the room next to ours at the hotel and kept clumsily hitting on my sister and I, using tactics including 1) knocking on our door pretending they were looking for “Jack;” trying to use this to start a conversation, 2) Shouting “Free Margaritas!” whenever we walked past them at the pool bar, 3) Having absolutely no ability to pick up on how much we wanted to run over their legs with our rental car.
  • Missing HoST and the cat like nobody’s business; having moments of panic when I realized how far away from them I was; applying guacamole and pina coladas to the panic as needed.
  • The hiking and yoga that kicked my lily-white ass and made my muscles so sore they considered seceding from my body so I could never stupidly try to keep up with a 90-minute power yoga class again.

Pros: Breathtakingly beautiful; Cons: Husband not included.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Unpainted Arizona The Caretaker Had a Gun: How I Narrowly Survived a Grad School Retreat

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Husband of Said Turkey  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:14 am

    I’m glad to know that your love of me can easily be crushed with some food and booze. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Kristin  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Cheers to Turkey coming back! And cheers to SkyMall. I LOVE that magazine. I always have an insane desire to buy everything in it, despite having no use at all for a glow-in-the-dark globe or nose hair trimmer.

    Reply
  • 3. FoST  |  May 20, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    “None of my planes crashed, thanks in large part to the fact that I insisted on window seats, so I could monitor and mentally control each flight.”

    What a relief…I thought I was the only Hero with this ability. I’m glad we found each other.

    Reply
  • 4. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  May 20, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Thank you, Turkey, for this classic quote:

    “Lady, if I hadn’t had such a mellow buzz from that cheap airline wine, I would have stuffed my SkyMall down your throat.”

    Looks like my birthday came a few days early this year.

    Reply
  • 5. MLE  |  May 22, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    My husband also enjoys the Sky Mall catalog, and we frequently wonder just who ever buys most of that crap?

    Also, woot! for first class! Someday, I hope to experience it. Someday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

