STILL ALIVE!

July 21, 2008 at 12:54 pm 8 comments

Yes, internet, I am still alive – although one wouldn’t know it from looking at my blog. However, it’s been a very busy week spent in places other than in front of my computer, and as you may assume, not being in front of a computer makes blogging very difficult.

Terrible at blogging

But! The good thing is, the events that have taken me away from my computer have been fun, happy things, like:

  • The opening weekend of my show!
  • Going to see the new Batman movie!
  • Having friends come visit!
  • Drinking copious amounts of distilled spirits!
  • Staying up until the scandalous hour of 3am TWO NIGHTS IN A ROW; subsequent crushing exhaustion that made getting a shower a more strenuous activity than I ever imagined possible!

I also did a guest spot on a certain sexy husband’s podcast last night, which I may or may not link to once it goes live, depending on how brave I am feeling that day. I will pretend that this modesty stems from the fact that I share a story about the time I almost shat myself in the car, but it’s really because I hate the sound of my voice.

You understand.

So I promise that a longer, more profanity-laden entry is coming soon, but I am far too busy catching up at work/cleansing my liver/steeling my fragile psyche for the play reviews to provide you with anything of substance at present. I will say, however, that you need to get yourself to the Batman movie post-haste, even if you think you’re not a “comic-book person.” It’s pretty awesome. And I am not ashamed to admit that I caught myself wondering if I’d be more effectively assertive at work if I showed up looking like this:

No one asks THIS bitch for copies.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Googlemania III: Comedy Turns to Concern Week in the Knees

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Husband of Said Turkey  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    You’d also be more assertive if you showed up dressed as a combination of the three images from this entry. Fran Drescher with Joker makeup and a turban… riding a camel. No one would give you shit then.

    Reply
  • 2. kristin  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Well, if the reviews aren’t all positive, you can just get back to those distilled spirits and your liver will just have to cowgirl up.

    Did I just use the phrase “cowgirl up”? Yup. And I haven’t even had any distilled spirits myself today. Yet.

    Reply
  • 3. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  July 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Hey, congrats (?) to you and HoST on opening weekend. (I know that you are supposed to say “Break a leg” before the show, but despite being a theatre geek myownself, I am not sure if there is a special super secret theatre code word/phrase for after the show opens… so I fell back on the lame, non-super-secret “Congrats.”)

    How did you feel about opening weekend? Any fun stories? My 14-y-o daughter is running follow-spot for a local theatre company’s summer musical, and came home after yesterday’s show to tell me that during one of the songs, one of the middle aged actors accidentally smacked one of the (10 years younger than him) actress’s boobs. There was much laughter and teasing about it in the green room during intermission.

    And I second the instructions to get thee to the Heath Ledger… uh, I mean, Batman… movie. We saw it last night at a drive-in. Awesome.

    Reply
  • 4. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  July 21, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Ew. I totally didn’t mean to put a smiley in my last entry. I think the little code translator program thingy got confused by the combination of the period, end quotes, and end parentheses, and made me emote an icon when I had no intention of emoting thereof. (Thereto? Therewith?)

    Yes, I am a surly emoticon-hater. There. I said it.

    Reply
  • 5. Sara  |  July 22, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Heath Ledger was amazing, wasn’t he? Sure didn’t help my fear of clowns (unless I mean “help my fear of clowns get worse,” because, in that case, it did help).

    Reply
  • 6. jiveturkey  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:53 am

    4th reader: 😦 🙂 😉

    And thanks for the congrats! Opening weekend went well, especially opening night. One of the reviews comes out today. Am currently pooping pants. And telling liver to “cowgirl up.”

    Reply
  • 7. 4th reader of said turkey  |  July 24, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    So??? How were the reviews? (And, uh, hope you brought a change of skivvies…)

    Reply
  • 8. 4th reader of said turkey  |  July 24, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    DAMN! It emoted me AGAIN!!! Note to self: don’t use parentheses any more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


