Good, Better, Best

November 6, 2008 at 1:04 pm 13 comments

In the case of Steelers vs. Redskins: The Steelers emerged victorious.

In the case of Obama vs. McCain: Obama emerged victorious.

In the case of Chick vs. Dick?

profile2aI’d like you to meet my daughter.

Internet, I was SO SURE the baby was a boy. I don’t know why; it might have been a bit of wishful thinking on my part. As bad and weird as I feel admitting this, I kind of wanted a boy. Honestly, girls scare me. I think growing up is a little tougher for girls – body issues, BIG ASS body changes during puberty – I don’ t know, it overwhelmed me. Plus, I was afraid having a daughter would mean I was doomed to drive the poor thing crazy. That would, after all, be my job as her mother.

As the ultrasound technician (who was awesome, by the way) ran the wand over my belly, she rested on what I easily recognized as an image of a decidedly junk-free little crotch. “Now, you’re sure you want to know the sex, right?” she said. We nodded. “You’re having a little girl!”

I started crying. Brad started crying. I said something like, “Oh my God, I thought it was a boy!” which, combined with my insane sobbing, prompted the ultrasound tech to say with a laugh, “Are you OK with a girl?”

footprint1Internet, I’m a little more than OK with a girl.

The rest of the ultrasound was perfect. All the necessary bones and organs were present and accounted for, and we watched a perfectly-chambered heart beat with little flutters on the screen. My little Chick opened and closed her fist, stretched her legs, and somersaulted like a damn Romanian gymnast. I don’t think I blinked the entire time.

Of course, that absolutely perfect boy name I’ve had picked out since before I got pregnant? Set aside, for now. (For now? FOR NOW?! Did I just say “for now?” Holy fuck.) We started to throw around some girl names last night, and as of today we have two on our short list of favorites. I’m afraid the name won’t be revealed to you all until the next time I get to see those little feet: April 5. But I can tell you this: never in my wildest dreams have I ever imagined I’d deserve something as perfect as her. And I’m quite sure I don’t deserve her, but I’ll be damned if I don’t do my best to try.

profile1a

Just promise you won’t make me listen to Hannah Montana. Amen.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Selective Memory Silver Linings: When the World Gives You Crap, Just Wallow In It Until the Slightest Improvement Seems Like a Fucking Miracle

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  November 6, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Congratulations! My sister thought for sure her last one was going to be a boy. When she gave birth, the doctor said “it’s a girl!” and she said “WHAT?!” But the newest niece is so adorable and awesome. Bet you can’t wait to see those little feet up close. And those pictures are amazing!

    Reply
  • 2. MLE  |  November 6, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    I’m totally serious about the blanket.

    Reply
  • 3. kristin  |  November 6, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Yay for chicks! How bizarre that you can say, “my daughter.” Look, you’re a mom!

    Now, when do you get the ugly-ass high-waisted jeans?

    Reply
  • 4. Husband of Said Turkey  |  November 6, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    “For now,” huh? 😉

    I can’t wait to embarrass her in front of boys.

    Reply
  • 5. Sass  |  November 6, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I’ve been reading you for a month or so now…I’m due April 15.

    Anyhoo, I totally teared up when I saw that precious footprint and needed to comment. Holy crap.

    Congrats on a healthy girl!

    Reply
  • 6. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  November 6, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I am so happy that she and you are healthy and sans clubbed feet.

    Reply
  • 7. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  November 6, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Yay for daughters! I kinda like mine. Congrats!

    Reply
  • 8. The Constant C  |  November 6, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Yeah, I’m sure I’m having a boy, even though I don’t KNOW because my husband didn’t want to know. I’m actually pretty terrified of what will happen if I deliver a girl. What the hell would I do? But at that point, I guess, there’s no stuffing her back in there… so it’ll be alright either way. Even if we have to call her Edwin or something.

    Congrats (both of you) on a healthy little flutterer!

    Reply
  • 9. Leah  |  November 6, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    A girl! A GIRL! I love girls! She’s going to be freakin’ adorable (and will probably listen to Hannah Montana, I’m sorry, because that’s what all children do to their parents regardless of what’s between their legs).

    So happy for you guys and your GIRL!

    Reply
  • 10. Carrie  |  November 6, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Hell, I even teared up a little! That footprint is amazing! Congratulations!!

    Reply
  • 11. Laura  |  November 10, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Congratulations! I was intimidated at the notion of parenting a daughter too, but it has been wonderful. Girls rule!

    Reply
  • 12. jiveturkey  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Thanks, everyone! I still can’t believe it. I’ve been giddy ever since last Wednesday (which..uh…explains my lack of posting? Maybe?).

    Reply
  • 13. krysta  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    congratulations!

    i was totally scared when i had my daughters. i thought the same thing as you did and they are totally cool and much easier to raise than my boys.

    april 5th is the birthday of the athlete. they have star quality but rarely seek it out. hardworking, dedicated, and energetic.also it’s the year of the ox so they are patient and confident but grumpy.

    yeah i’m strange… sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

