Two Days

March 11, 2009 at 4:29 pm 4 comments

First things first: NO BABY YET.

nursery-012Would like to you know that SHE is still the baby, and was also HERE FIRST.

I had my appointment with the midwives this morning (I now go every blessed week, holyfuckingshit), and it turns out my due date is now April 3 instead of April 5. How this happened is really kind of unclear – apparently it was always April 3 in my file, but after my first early ultrasound someone adjusted it to April 5 and communicated this to us verbally, so that’s what we’ve etched in our minds these past 7 months. And although I KNOW due dates are just estimates and I KNOW most first-timers go past their due date, the loss of those two days is INORDINATELY exciting to me. It means I’m two days closer to Week 37! Two days closer to labor! Two days closer to becoming parents…

Gimme a minute.

When I shared this news with my sister, she reminded me that she, too, was given a due date of the 5th (December), that was later adjusted to the 3rd in her last trimester. And you know when she went into labor?

The 26th.

Isn’t that just hilarious?

Man, I knew this was going to happen. I knew once I got to this stage in the game, I’d start getting all impatient and anxious and antsy because the BIGGEST part of this whole pregnancy thing (i.e., a baby coming out the ol’ brewster) is the one thing that absolutely, positively cannot be planned (unless you’re getting a scheduled C-section, I guess). And telling my brain – the same brain that has been cleaning and organizing and making lists non-stop both at work AND at home – that it CANNOT PLAN something?

fruitcake1Is making me nuttier than a fruitcake, as opposed to the far more preferable “fruitier than a fruitcake.”

Keeping busy helps – whether “busy” means eating Tootsie Rolls or falling asleep at 9pm or having the wool totally pulled over your eyes by your coworkers and walking into a conference room that you thought was being reserved for a pre-proposal meeting, but was instead decorated top-to-bottom in pastel colors because SURPRISE! You’re having a baby shower at work!

toroWhat a gulli-bull.

I only wish I had known about it in advance so that 1) I could have brought my camera & taken pictures, because they really went all-out with the cute decorations and pretty pastel cupcakes, and 2) I wouldn’t have worn the most hideous, stretched-out, broken-down maternity sweater I own. Oh well.

prince“You go to [work] to [earn], not for a fashion show!”

So that’s where we stand. Baby: still in. Mind: still scrambled. Shoes: still not visible by me. Another update forthcoming in a few days. When I will officially be 37 weeks pregnant, which means this kid will be officially FULL TERM.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

…Miss Jackson If You’re Nesty Googlemania! Instant Classics Edition

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MLE  |  March 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I still maintain that “brewster” is the best name for the ladyparts I have ever encountered. hee!

    Reply
  • 2. Sara  |  March 12, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Perhaps it was better to not have your camera to document the ugly sweater. I mean, I know you wrote about it, but we can only imagine what it looked like instead of experiencing the actual hideousness of it. And maybe it’s better that way.

    Reply
  • 3. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  March 12, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    YAY! Surprise shower = awesome. Hope you got some fun teensy items!

    Reply
  • 4. Leah  |  March 16, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    For the record, “brewster” is our favorite vagina name now. Is it weird that every time one of us says it (OFTEN), I think of you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


