My Cup Runneth Over*

March 16, 2009 at 12:25 pm 8 comments

*Not to be confused with “My CUPS Runneth Over,” also known as my first trimester. These days, the belly is beating the bosoms to the finish line in a BIG WAY.

3-15-baby-shower-001OMFG.

So, confession time: A movie I have seen way too many times is “Hope Floats,” and the one scene therein that always gets me is when the little girl (Bernice) FREAKS OUT when her Dad leaves her after her grandmother’s funeral. And then at the end of the movie, when Harry Connick, Jr. has properly banged and won over Sandra Bullock and everyone is happy, Bernice repeats a line her (now dead – *SOB*) grandmother said earlier in the movie: “My cup runneth over.”

verklempt1I’m not made of stone, people.

Because I was raised Catholic and pretty much never had to crack a Bible, I don’t even know if “My cup runneth over” is actually from the Bible or just sounds all Bible-y. Either way, I have to admit I am not much of a Bible-quote person (a SHOCK coming from a woman who writes a blog such as this, I know), but Internet, that phrase runs through my mind pretty often these days. Because, dammit, it’s true.

This weekend, I received:

1. One handmade blanket from MLE.

3-15-baby-shower-036Tootsie would like you to know she is SO over this stupid nursery which USED to be the guest bedroom where she took many enjoyable naps, and now she will be claiming this blanket for HERSELF, thanks.

2. One huge box of baby clothes from The Constant Catastrophizer:

3-15-baby-shower-032Just a mere sampling of the painfully adorable bounty.

3. A baby shower thrown by my sister, mother, and Friend of Turkey Who Reads This Blog, And Who Was Also Responsible For Bringing These Baby Shower Favors Into My Life:

3-15-baby-shower-029It’s also a salt and pepper shaker, making it both cute AND functional. And I say to myself, what a wonderful world.

I remember being so grateful for and humbled by all the enormous kindnesses people showed me whenever Brad & I were getting married. But what people have shown me as we get ready to have this baby? It leaves me speechless. It’s not so much the astounding amount of gifts people have showered upon us (although HOLY SHIT the gifts are amazing), it’s the sentiment behind them. Friends and relatives and Internet-only-friends I have never even met are genuinely excited for this baby. And knowing that so many people wish the very best for this little peanut who has eclipsed my entire heart since last August is almost a bit too much for my hormonal self to handle.  I appreciate every smile, every congratulations, every gift, every kind word and comment, and I only hope I have the opportunity to return the favor.

3-15-baby-shower-030Not this favor, though. This one’s mine.

So that was my weekend: an embarrassment of riches, my friends. And I can already tell this kid is going to be after my own heart. How can I tell?

3-15-baby-shower-020She stayed put for red velvet cupcakes. Clever girl.

Entry filed under: Thanksgiving.

Googlemania! Instant Classics Edition The Cream Cheese Frosting Diet

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MLE  |  March 16, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Yay! It sounds like you had a great weekend. I’m actually planning to upload photos of my party to flickr (shocking, I know) since I kind of can’t blog much about it.

    Reply
  • 2. hillary  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    goddamn that cupcake looks amazing

    Reply
  • 3. Sara  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Hey, are you pregnant? Seriously, I bet people would be surprised to find out you’re pregnant if they only saw you from behind. You’re one of those skinny pregnant women who only have a big pregnant belly!

    Reply
  • 4. HoST  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    @Sara: Thank you for reinforcing something I’ve been telling her all along!

    Reply
  • 5. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    JESUS those cupcakes look good. i want one!!!

    Reply
  • 6. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  March 17, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Yeah, yeah, whatever… you know we love you… now send us all a fucking cupcake, dammit.

    Reply
  • 7. SF Reader  |  March 17, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    It gets better when the lil ‘un has popped out (and by “popped” i mean shoved itself with more force than you thought humanly possible, causing you more pain than you thought humanly possible, and then turning out to be more beautiful than you thought humanly possible… although for me the beautiful part took a couple weeks (i.e., when I could walk again after the aforementioned popping)).

    Anyhoo — after the mini pops out you not only get great attention from people you know, but from absolute strangers as well! And, it become really, really, really easy to talk to people at parties (as long as those people have kids. If they don’t, you’re just the jackass who can’t stop yammering on about your wee little miracle).

    You’re welcome for the abundance of parentheses as well as the description of popping.

    Reply
  • 8. kristin  |  March 20, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Jesus. Except for the noticeably protruding belly, I think I look more pregnant than you. In the thigh and ass area, anyway. How depressing.

    Not depressing? Baby clothes! Yay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

