Love Lifts Us Up Where We Belong…

March 26, 2009 at 12:19 pm 11 comments

And by “Love,” I mean the Enchiladas Verdes platter I inhaled this weekend, which I believe may be responsible for the packing on of THREE POUNDS IN A WEEK that I was informed of this morning at my midwife appointment. The belly grew an inch and a half over the past seven days, and I no longer feel like I am somehow starving this baby, who now kicks me with such force I’m wondering if I’ve got Sally O’Malley in there.

sally_omallyShe likes to kick, stretch, and kick! She’s [39 weeks]!


I didn’t get an internal exam, which irritates my mother to NO END – but seriously, it’s not like there’s going to be any breaking news in that department seeing as how I have no other real labor symptoms, right? I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be sitting here in absolutely no pain or discomfort if my ladyparts were dilated to ten.

spinal-tapActually, I’m pretty sure mine can go to eleven.

I did have a few contractions in the middle of the night last night that were a bit more painful than the ones I’ve had up until now (and they also lasted longer), but they eventually subsided and I fell right back asleep. I did, after all, have a nice bellyful of tuna noodle casserole, so it was gonna take a whole lot more than a few contractions to get my carb-loaded ass to fully wake up.

SPEAKING of the casserole: yes, I made it and we totally devoured it and it was GLORIOUS. The comments on the last post re: casseroles were some of my very favorites, by the by – not to mention I was very pleased to see that CFoST and Sara appreciated the BBD (“Boyz II Men, ABC, BBD – the East Coast Family!”) reference. But 4th reader: PEAS? As in the VEGETABLE? In my CASSEROLE? I’m afraid that there is no room for green in my starchy, creamy wonderland. (I can, however, get totally on board with potato chips).

And now, just because I don’t want to be the only one who cries at work today, I am sharing with you a link to a story about some kids whose dad surprised them at school after returning from a year in Iraq. I saw this on the news when I was filling in at the receptionist’s desk this morning (there is a TV in our lobby, which MIGHT be why I always volunteer to fill in at the front desk), and I promptly LOST MY SHIT. Enjoy.

UPDATE: WordPress is being a BITCH and will not let me embed videos from CNN.com, so an old-fashioned linky-link will have to do. GOD, what is this? 2004?!

Entry filed under: And you KNOW THIS!.

The Waiting Game OH HAI. I published this post without a title and didn’t notice for THREE HOURS.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DiaryofWhy  |  March 26, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Between the Spinal Tap reference and the CNN video, I’m an emotional mess. I’m laughing, I’m crying…plus I could really go for some tuna casserole. Reading your blog is like being pregnant by proxy.

    Reply
  • 2. hillary  |  March 26, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I don’t even have speakers at my computer, so I was watching it without sound, but I still totally cried. Gah.

    Reply
  • 3. Sara  |  March 26, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Yay: JT named me IN HER POST! This brought happy tears to my eyes. As did the Spinal Tap reference.

    Boo: I can’t watch the video at work, and I can never watch CNN videos on my laptop. Oh wait, I just remembered that I broke my computer, then reinstalled everything (included the much-hated Vista, which caused the initial downfall), and now all the Windows updates work…so maybe the CNN videos will work as well! Hooray! As if I need MORE reasons to cry.

    Reply
  • 4. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  March 26, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Okay, I should have left for my show 1 minute ago, so now I’m totally going to be late for call, which is not a good example for the stage manager to set… BUT. Yes, peas, please. They’re pretty high up there on the list of starchy veggies (it’s not like I’m telling you to put something totally healthy like broccoli or kale in there) so they fit right into your starchy, creamy wonderland. Trust me. It’s yummy. Have I ever lied to you?

    Reply
  • 5. MLE  |  March 26, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    I usually put celery in my tuna casserole, but that’s how MY mom made it. It adds a nice bit of crunch and flavor.

    Also, both Dan and I laughed out loud at your cervix’s Spinal Tappian prowess.

    Reply
  • 6. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  March 26, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Are you naming your baby Iesha by any chance? (…you are the girl that I never had, and I want to get to know you better)

    Reply
  • 7. Daughter of 4th Reader  |  March 26, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Coming out of lurking to say that THAT VIDEO WAS VERY SAPPY. (Which I /meant/ to be what you get when you combine sad + happy, but.. okay, I guess “sappy” fits too.)
    Have you seen Christian the Lion? It’s pretty damn amazing.

    Reply
  • 8. kristin  |  March 27, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Okay, I’m late to the casserole discussion, and obviously the impending BABY is just a wee bit more important, but I must say . . .

    There’s no need to mess about with little crumbs of potato chips on top of tuna casserole. Just scoop that shit up with whole chips. More starch and fat are ingested that way.

    Reply
  • 9. Leah  |  March 27, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Simon’s philosophy is that cruddy screw can be made with whatever is handy. Last time we made it with corn, which was, well…interesting.

    Reply
  • 10. Leah  |  March 27, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Okay, that video was sweet, but I kind of want to punch the reporter in the neck.

    Reply
  • 11. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  March 28, 2009 at 2:15 am

    Leah – if the reporter is the dumbfuck who asked the kids, “Why are you guys crying?” then a punch in the neck is too good for her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


