The Big 4-1

April 10, 2009 at 11:31 am 2 comments

Me: Large, uncomfortable, righteously pissed off after an entire day of painful contractions came to a screeching halt at 6pm last night, officially 41 weeks pregnant.

Fetus: Just fine where she is, thanks.

coversI hope she remembers to bring that flashlight out with her.

Not a whole lot to report today, Internet. We have an appointment with the midwives this afternoon, at which they’re going to perform a non-stress test (making me wear the fetal heartrate monitor for 30 minutes) to make sure Spats is not under any duress (UNLIKE HER VERY IMPATIENT PARENTS), and then I’ll go through the regular prenatal rundown: blood pressure, weighing, peeing, whining, bargaining with God, etc.

Of course, in my imagination I picture the midwife telling me that I’ve magically dilated to 5cm and that they’re going to admit me and get this show on the road already, but I have a feeling we’ll probably get sent home with a “Just be patient,” and a pat on the back. And that’s FINE – really, it is – because I’d much prefer to have to spend some more time in my Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade float of a body than to find out Spats’ heartrate is unusually low or something scary like that…but MY GOD we are so impatient to meet her around here.

img_0953Well, not ALL of us.

As always, I’ll keep you posted, Internet. I’ll try my best to get this baby out. The sooner she gets here, the sooner I will have stories to share about how her first word was “cocksucker,” or something equally adorable as that.

img_3333

I wish I could compete with your stories of childhood profanities, but this geek’s first word was “toast.” Also, this is what the teen years hold for you, Spats. Sorry about that. I think I’m beginning to see why you don’t want to come out.

bylitterAnd just for gratuitous cuteness, I give you Tootsie circa 2001. Her first word would land you in jail in Oklahoma. Also: AWWWWWW.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Let’s Try NOT Talking About It Update

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leah  |  April 10, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Too hell with dilation. Just start pushing!

    Reply
  • 2. MLE  |  April 10, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    I was ten days late and a first baby. And I eventually came out! So all hope is not lost. Lets hope the midwives give you some good news!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


