Sadie Rose

April 15, 2009 at 2:41 pm 23 comments

Oh, Internet. She’s here. What did I ever do without her?

img_43931About 20 minutes after she was born, taking in the crazy lady who has been feeding her ice cream and burritos for the past 9 months.

Sadie Rose was born on 4/11/09 at 6pm on the dot, and was 7 lbs 9 oz, 20.5 inches long, and absolutely perfect. I cannot wait to share her whole birth story with you. It was amazing, fun, a little scary, empowering, and painful in all the best ways possible.

img_4366Sadie, your mama is a jackass. And – as she predicted – after this photo was taken, her contractions immediately started getting hellacious to teach her a lesson about making jokes in the delivery room.

This is the first opportunity I’ve had to get on the computer and check my blog/Flickr/email, and all of your lovely comments just sent me into another (ANOTHER!) hormonally-charged weepfest over my keyboard. Thank you, thank you, thank you a million times over. I want to reach through the screen and hug all of you (although you’d probably have to change your shirt afterwards).

Just to give you a quick recap of how it went until I have time to elaborate:

  • Water broke at 11:50pm
  • Got to hospital around 2am
  • Triage nurse was a total, raging bitch of a woman
  • FINALLY got into L&D room at 6am
  • Contractions not progressing much on their own; got Pitocin at 11am
  • Now those are some contractions!
  • I soldier through contractions & increasing Pitocin until 2pm.
  • I’m only 3-4 cm dilated but I cry uncle and get the epidural at 2:30pm. I always planned to get an epidural if need be, but I was hoping to hold out until I was dilated further. I’m a little disappointed in myself, but I don’t dwell on this for long because OMG FUCKING EPIDURAL WHEEEEEEEEEEEEE!
  • I nap until 4:30pm. According to the monitor, my contractions have spaced apart further than they were earlier. I’m upset because I think I could have kept labor going at a faster clip if I had forgone epidural longer, but I know I would never be able to push if I hadn’t gotten some relief and rest.
  • My blood pressure is really low. Brad looks worried.
  • Midwife comes in at 4:50pm and asks if I want her to check my progress. I say sure, but I am convinced I’m probably still at around 4cm.
  • She barely gets two seconds into the brewster check before saying, “Oh, wow – your baby is RIGHT THERE. You’re complete and ready to push!”
  • I immediately get the excited anxiety shakes. The midwife and nurse get set up for delivery.
  • I start pushing at 5pm. At the risk of sounding batshit crazy, I really like pushing. It’s challenging, and I like feeling as though I am actively working to bring this baby into the world. Let’s face it: up until this point, all I’d done is had sex, eaten burgers and gotten huge.
  • I can feel the pressure of the baby’s head getting closer to the outside world. Weirdest/coolest fucking sensation I’ve ever experienced.
  • The midwife tells me to lean back and give a final push. The head comes out. I feel her ears and nose pass through, and then what I thought were shoulders but I learn later was an elbow.
  • Sadie is born at exactly 6pm on the dot. Her eyes are wide open, and she lets out a small squeal, and then a rousing chorus of cries. It’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard in my life.
  • They place her on my stomach. I’m a weeping fool. Brad cuts the cord. We’re a family.

img_4382

The past few days have been a whirlwind of family, friends, nurses, hormonally-charged crying jags (“I love her soooo mu-hu-hu-hu-huuuuuuuch!”), diapers, breastfeeding (it’s working! Way to earn your keep, boobs!), and hours upon hours spent staring at our new baby girl.

img_4438Can you blame us?

img_4451Yeah, I didn’t think so.

More to come, Internet. My mom is here this week cooking & cleaning and being a doting grandma. I’m trying to get better about not hogging the baby & letting Mom have her share of warm-baby-head-nuzzling, and I’ll update again when I can.

Thanks, you guys. Once again, my cup runneth over.

img_4475And over, and over, and over.

Entry filed under: Thanksgiving.

You Serious, Clark? Still Here! More Soon!

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hillary  |  April 15, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    oh she is gorgeous!!

    Reply
  • 2. mb  |  April 15, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Alright, I’m a first-time commenter but I found your blog about a month ago and I’ve been hooked. You’re hilarious and I totally must admit that I have been stalking you on twitter and also here for baby news. Congratulations! She is such a doll. Also, though I just got married like six months ago and after spending Easter with my husband’s seven (soon to be eight) nieces and nephews and realizing that we’re no where near ready for whiny, helpless babies, I must admit that Sadie makes my ovaries hurt just a little. So happy for you. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. shelli  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    teh awesome. Welcome to the outside, beautiful Sadie!

    Reply
  • 4. notyourchelle  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Congratulations, Mom. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 5. Leah  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    She looks like such a PERSON already! Amazing, amazing girl.

    Reply
  • 6. kristin  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Despite the beautiful, classy name you chose (for an obviously beautiful and classy girl), she’s going to be Spats, too. Not so classy, maybe, but it has a history.

    Congratulations again. And again and again and again . . .

    Reply
  • 7. kdiddy  |  April 15, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 8. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    And now I’m crying…again. GOD she’s beautiful. And I’m so proud of you and your boobs and vagina.

    Reply
  • 9. SF Reader  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    YAYAYAYAY!!!! Soooooooo happy for you cuties!!
    πŸ™‚
    πŸ™‚
    πŸ™‚
    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 10. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Sadie Rose – I love it! And that crocheted blanket looks exactly like the one my late grandma made for my kids.

    Oh, congrats, congrats, congrats! Can’t wait to hear the further adventures of…

    Reply
  • 11. Carrie  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Wow! She is possibly the most beautiful newborn I’ve ever seen! Way to go! Congratulations!! I’m very, very happy for your new little family! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 12. Daughter 4th Reader  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Adorable baby!
    The ducky slippers are awesome.

    Reply
  • 13. MLE  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I know I’ve said this other places – but I’m so glad she’s here! You guys have an awesome baby now! And I can’t wait to see more photos.

    xoxo

    Reply
  • 14. Sara  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Did you say your cups runneth over?

    I kid, I kid. Because your kid is GORGEOUS! Absolutely gorgeous. And I love her beautiful name! I just ran out to tell my family that your baby’s picture is up and her name is Sadie Rose and I was clapping and…yeah. I have nothing to do with it ,at all, in any way, I don’t even know you, and yet I’m so, so happy for you. Congratulations! Enjoy your beautiful baby girl!

    Reply
  • 15. elembee  |  April 15, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Long-time lurker here…just to say Congrats!!! And Good Onya! That lil’ gal is quite a beauty!

    Welcome to low humidity, Sadie Rose! May you have a long and happy life!

    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 16. Nev  |  April 16, 2009 at 1:05 am

    Awww, Jivey!! Little Sadie is absolutely bee-yoo-tee-fuuuull…! Adorable little moppet, she is.
    Congratulations to you and Brad, and may you all be healthy and joyful and safe and wonderful– and I could go on and on but I shan’t. πŸ™‚

    All the very best in this new, incredible time…

    Love the snap above the ‘Yeah, I didn’t think so’ caption – she’s manipulating you with her way-too-cuteness already!! πŸ˜›

    And as most readers have said, she looks like a person already, not a troll baby. πŸ˜€

    Congrats-to-the-max once more!!

    Reply
  • 17. The Constant C  |  April 16, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Yay! And that closer and closer to the outside world feeling? It’s not as fun san epidural. So don’t kick yourself too much.

    Reply
  • 18. » Did you miss me? However Absurd:  |  April 16, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    […] 1) Jive Turkey’s beautiful baby girl has arrived! […]

    Reply
  • 19. Laura  |  April 16, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Good job! Beautiful baby!

    Reply
  • 20. elle  |  April 16, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Congratulations! She made her fashionably late entrance in grand style!

    Reply
  • 21. Kerry  |  April 17, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Oh I am just blubbering away here…she is BEAUTIFUL!! And I have been a little back and forth on the epidural, but I think you conviced me now. (Maybe I didn’t need that much convincing after all…horrible torturous pain, or not so horrible torturous pain…not such a hard decision!).

    But really, LOVE the name and she couldn’t be any cuter.

    Reply
  • 22. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  April 18, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    BTW, how’s Tootsie doing?

    Reply
  • 23. Seth Benson  |  September 18, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Just got your comment on my blog post about my Sadie Rose and I have to admit, reading your post has gotten me a little teary-eyed all over again–What can I say, I’m a weepy dad. A very belated Congratulations to you!

    What a strange thing this internet does, huh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

