Randomness

June 26, 2009 at 5:08 pm 6 comments

Huh? What? I have a BLOG? Like, the kind I have to actively post on? You mean all those blog posts I compose in my head while breastfeeding/showering/rocking Sadie to sleep don’t get automatically sent from my neurons to the Internet?

mcflyAlso, where the fuck are my automatically adjusting high-tops? It’s the year 2009, people! Let’s step up the technology!

I apologize for my lack of posting, but as I approach the end of my maternity leave (WAH), I’ve been trying to absorb every last little moment at home with that effing adorable child of mine.

cowgirlSigh.

So I hope you’ll forgive me as I throw together a random selection of thoughts. Some of them are even NON-baby-related! Look at me, with my broad interests!

  • What’s with all these dead people? So, yesterday when Brad texted me that Farrah Fawcett had died (he knows that I’m woefully out of touch these days because I choose to spend my precious TV time watching re-runs of The King of Queens instead of CNN), I replied “Oh no! Who will be the third?” because of Ed McMahon earlier in the week and the whole celebrity-deaths-happen-in-threes things, and by 6pm, WOW. Michael Jackson. WTF?! I have to admit I feel kind of relieved for him, you know? The man had a turbulent life – some of it his doing, and some of it not. I just think he got to a point of no return with the whole OMG SO WEIRD thing, and before you knew it he was dangling newborns over balconies and wearing pajamas in court. Actually, if you want to read something much more eloquent on MJ’s death, please go here. I definitely can’t say it better than that.
  • Sadie has been sleeping through the night. Yep, that’s THROUGH THE NIGHT, as in 9:30 pm-ish to 7:30 am-ish. This, I believe, is largely thanks to Shelli’s ingenious Miracle Blanket suggestion. And that is all I will say, because I’m afraid if I gush too much about this wondrous thing, the universe will hear and snatch it away from me. And I really don’t want those dark circles under my eyes to come back.
  • I am trying to not be such a spazz about taking Sadie out in the world. It’s not that we don’t take her out, because we do, but it’s hard for my neurotic self not to imagine all kinds of worst-case scenarios during said outings. I figure the only way to get over this is to keep taking her out. It was in this spirit that I decided to take Sadie with me to the coffee shop two blocks from our house on Monday morning. I put her in the Moby wrap and off we went, with me trying to be all LA LA LA THIS IS TOTALLY NORMAL AND I AM NOT OVER-THINKING IT, and it worked. She was totally content during the walk, while I waited in line, and as the nice coffee lady made my latte. Then, as I was exiting the coffee shop, BOILING hot latte in hand, she spit-up, shot her legs straight out of the sling, arched her back and started wailing. I immediately broke out into a cold sweat and tried to one-handedly maneuver her back into the sling and wipe the barf off her face with my sleeve while NOT spilling lava-hot coffee on her tender little self. I got her somewhat stabilized and BOOKED IT back to the house. About a half-block from my front door, she fell dead asleep. Heh. Tomorrow, we take her to the zoo with our friends and their 15-month-old. I fully expect to have some sort of poop-related crisis in the monkey house, because WHY NOT.
  • I can’t stop buying/eating this organic fat free Greek yogurt they have at my grocery store, even though it is TWO DOLLARS per miniature cup, and I will have a lot of explaining to do whenever we can’t afford to send Sadie to college (but I will have lovely, rock-solid, calcium-enriched bones with which to crush her academic dreams).
  • Rodger is doing very well in hospice. Thanks for all your kind thoughts. The kindness of all the hospice workers is astounding.
  • I stopped taking my breastfeeding-friendly birth control pills. No, I am not looking to get pregnant again right now (OMG), but after almost a solid year of yo-yo-ing hormones, and after a week and a half on the pills (which were making me break out and also making me even more of a crazy ho-bag), Brad and I decided ENOUGH. Not to mention that just about everything I read online about the pills said that it was super super suuuuuuuper easy to get pregnant while taking them (and my midwife told me the exact same thing), meaning we’d probably have to use a back-up method of birth control anyway, so why not cut out the middle man and just use the back-up method as the ONLY method? I realize this may sound idiotic, and like the perfect way to end up with ten kajillion babies, living in a shoe, etc. etc…but I am just saying no on this one.

Photo 69And c’mon. Another one of these, even if it’s an accident? Not so bad. Not even by a long shot.

OK, Internet, go have a good weekend. I hope to post more (and more coherently) next week.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

“…they are so placid and self-contain’d…” Why-yi-yi OH WHY

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  June 26, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I love the goofy grin on HoST’s face. I guess babies just make us that way. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. kdiddy  |  June 27, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    when my kid was about 7 or 8 months old, I was nursing him one morning while drinking coffee (mom of the year!). at that time, he got very demonstrative about how much he enjoyed nursing by tossing his free arm and leg around. he expressed his approval of breakfast and, in doing so, hit my cup, spilling hot coffee on both of us.

    also, I quit the breastfeeding-friendly BC pills almost immediately because I didn’t see the point. I’m not currently taking anything hormonal because I needed a break from that whole scene, so we’re using condoms exclusively. makes me feel young. yee haw.

    Reply
  • 3. Dana  |  June 29, 2009 at 12:00 am

    I stopped taking them too. The hormones made me a crazy beeoootch. I am still not fully normal 12 months later and I cant imagine what Id be like with the pills still in my system.

    And you are right, never ever, mention again Sadie sleeping thru the night, the universe hates that. If ppl ask, just say, well she tries. Cause I swear it will jinx it! Esp once she gets dreaded teeth.

    Reply
  • 4. The Constant C  |  June 29, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Ok that baby is seriously cute.

    And the spaz. I know.

    Reply
  • 5. Marcy  |  June 29, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Billy Mays just screwed up the whole celebrities die in threes rule…

    Reply
  • 6. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  July 2, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Marcy – it seems Billy Mays was the first of the 2nd round… Billy Mays, Karl Malden, and Mollie Sugden. It can stop now, though. I had a dream that Robert Redford died and if that happens I will be seriously sad.

    Sadie looks like she doesn’t quite approve of whatever it is HoST is making her watch on the computer.

    Enjoy your holiday weekend, you three (and Tootsie! What’s up with Tootsie?). Hope Sadie enjoys the fireworks. Daughter of 4th Reader used to hate the loud noise but love the sparkly, so we’d watch fireworks with her on my lap with my hands over her ears. Hee!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

