Growing and Being

August 13, 2009 at 10:54 am 9 comments

That was the name of the sex ed portion of health class in 5th grade, and I’ve never forgotten it – mostly because it’s so vague and weird and touchy-feely-1970s that it always made me feel much ookier than just learning what a damn nocturnal emission is already. And there was an equally ooky and 1970s-grainy filmstrip (remember filmstrips? I am old) that went along with it.

70s

“Let’s talk about down-there hair.”

Anyway, I was going to title this post “Growing and Changing,” because that’s what there’s been a whole helluva lot of here at JT headquarters this week, but I would be remiss not to share my creepy sex ed memories with you, so there we have it.

This is Sadie’s fourth (and final, thanks to Brad’s work-at-home Fridays) day of daycare this week, and I don’t think I’m premature in calling it an overall success. Yesterday was a particularly good day: she was all smiles when we dropped her off, when we visited at lunch (more on that later), and when we picked her up. In fact, this is how she looked in the car on the way home:

happypickupThey are clearly keeping her happy there. That, or they’re spiking her bottles with schnapps.

She’s had her first go at fingerpainting (OH, FOR CUTE), napped successfully without a swaddle, taken her bottles like a champ, and – the coolest thing for me to witness – loves to interact with the other shorties. One of her favorites is a little boy (Heavens! A may-un!) named Noah. As I fed Sadie during our lunchtime visit – wait, let me rephrase that – as I tried to feed Sadie during our lunchtime visit, she was completely preoccupied with Noah. She kept pulling off to look at what he was doing, and Noah (who has just started crawling) made a beeline over to us to sit and stare at Sadie. Then he pooped his pants and fussed for Brad to pick him up.

smilesaucer

I think you’ve picked a winner, sweetpea.

So, yeah: the lunchtime visits. First off, THANK YOU ALL for your input. Seriously, I have the most helpful, non-judgey readers on the Internet Superhighway. I think we’ve come to a decision about the daily visits – a decision that was reached thus:

Visiting Sadie at Lunch: Pros

  • Get to feed her in person (for nurturing purposes, also for being able to neglect stupid fucking breastpump purposes);
  • Center Director told us our visit greatly improved her mood and calmed her down when she was having a fussy day on Tuesday;
  • Shit, I love seeing her face and kissing those cheeks in the middle of the day.
  • Daycare is, like, a 5 minute drive from the office.

Visiting Sadie at Lunch: Cons

  • Setting a precedent that might be hard to break once she gets older/clingier/separation anxiety-er;
  • Sometimes when we get there? She’s asleep. So we just kind of stare at her, then leave;
  • Lunch is pretty much the only time I ever get to accomplish any kind of exercise (I take walks), and while I feel GUILTY GUILTY OH-SO-GUILTY for choosing exercise over visiting my freaking BABY, the walks make me feel better (about myself and in general), and as Brad reminded me, I need to do some things for myself. After all, happy momma = happy baby. And he’s right;
  • Internet, she’s fine there. Really, she is, and I’m proud of her for that. As much as I hate to admit it, she doesn’t NEED me to visit. And sometimes I think our visits kind of disrupt her busy day of playing with her doting caregivers and flirting with Noah. And I do not want to interrupt my daughter’s game, you see.

So here’s the plan: I’m going to visit her again today, mostly to feed her because I was only able to pump enough for two bottles thanks to a sudden supply issue that doesn’t seem to be responding to much (even though I admit I haven’t been exhausting ALL possible solutions, because I think I’m finally OK with supplementing and perhaps letting this be the beginning of the end of nursing but that’s a whole other issue I am kind of ignoring right now la-la-la).  Starting next week, we’ll cut visits to one day a week – probably whatever day she seems the crankiest/neediest in the morning. And maybe after a couple weeks of that, we won’t plan visits – we’ll just pop on over if and when we feel the need/get the chance.  Sounds pretty reasonable, no?

huh

Reasonable? Some HUH? My mother isn’t REASONABLE! What have you done with my real mother?!?! Eh, whatever. Can I borrow your cell to text Noah?

[Non-daycare-related post coming soon, I promise. This week got totally hijacked by child care issues. I blame the grandma-killing death panels.]

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Ignorance Is Bliss Nostalgia

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HoST  |  August 13, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    That last picture of her is awesome.

    Reply
  • 2. Marcy  |  August 13, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Sounds like a great plan! Plus those surprise visits will keep the caregivers on their toes ; )

    Reply
  • 3. MLE  |  August 13, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    A. This sounds like an excellent plan.

    B. Somehow, I managed to conveniently be absent every time they showed one of these freaky videos at my school. Yay!

    Reply
    • 4. jiveturkey  |  August 14, 2009 at 9:24 am

      Oh, the emotional scarring you missed…

      Reply
  • 5. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  August 13, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    An excellent plan! And… okay, I know you said “more later” on the end-of-nursing thing, but skipping the lunch-time feedings doesn’t have to be the end of nursing completely, you can supplement with formula and still nurse nights and mornings. But you probably already know that. And, BTW, good for you for being okay with that, too – I’m sure that was not easy for you to come to, either. You’re like, mature and stuff.

    Reply
    • 6. jiveturkey  |  August 14, 2009 at 9:27 am

      Thanks, 4th reader. I am not actually mature – I think I am just so tired this week my exhaustion is masquerading as maturity and acceptance. Hee.
      The end of nursing thing was more tied to the supply issue (I thought my supply was drying up in one side – but not the other, which makes for an awesome-looking rack! – but this morning the ship seems to have righted itself.

      Reply
  • 7. shelli  |  August 13, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    hmmmm, lets see – a) Daycare, b) just crawling, ad c) Noah – WHEN DID SADIE START DAYCARE IN NYC?

    🙂

    Reply
    • 8. jiveturkey  |  August 14, 2009 at 9:24 am

      Shelli! I KNOW! I thought of that last night when I was looking at your pics on Flickr! Haha…well, clearly, your delicious son and my daughter are destined to end up together.

      Reply
  • 9. Sara  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Sadie is just adorable. What a great smile…and even better cheeks!

    My mom ran a daycare in our home for years. She didn’t mind when parents came to visit; she had a total open door policy. However, I honestly don’t remember parents visiting too much during the day. The kids were happy, the parents were happy. There were often times where everyone would hang around for a long time when they came to pick up their kids, but again, that’s a good thing, too, because everyone was happy there. A lot of those famiilies became like family to us, actually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

