Blurgh

September 1, 2009 at 10:34 am 6 comments

First of all, thank you guys for all your baby food-makin’ advice. It has been duly noted, and I am totally excited to puree some peas up in this bitch. I am hoping my Dad will be more comfortable when Sadie is eating vegetables, and will not refer to her new diet as “that Jack Lalanne stuff.”

juicerI actually found one of these in my parents’ storage space under the stairs, and proceeded to laugh my fool head off at the thought of their failed juicing experience. In other news, I’m pretty sure that if my parents ever find this blog, they will enjoy all the coverage they’re getting lately. Anyone want to adopt a 32-year-old daughter?

However, yesterday afternoon Sadie wasn’t eating anything, as a call from her daycare informed me that she had projectile vomited all six ounces of her last bottle, and was crying inconsolably.

happy day

Once again, I find myself quoting the Les Humphries Singers.

The thing is, she didn’t have a temperature, which means we weren’t required to pick her up from daycare, but still. We felt pretty terrible that she was having such a rough time, and I knew all she had to eat for the rest of the day was formula (which she kind of only begrudgingly takes on a good day), so we decided to hightail over to daycare to rescue our sad little peanut.

And when we arrived, she was fast asleep. OF COURSE.

After a few minutes of wavering between taking her home and leaving her there so she could continue her (much needed) nap, we decided to take her home. It was already 2:30, and the day seemed kind of like a wash at that point. She woke up when we buckled her into the car seat and gave us a weak little smile, which just about broke our hearts to smithereens. A snack, a changed outfit, and a 3-hour nap later, she was back to her old smiling self.

worriedWhat – were you, like, worried or something?

At first, we thought the eeeeeeeeeevil oatmeal cereal was to blame, since that was apparently what she horked up at daycare, but a call to the pediatrician revealed that it was most likely a reaction to the rotavirus vaccine. Either way you slice it, we’re just relieved that she seems to be 100% better today.

hoodieEven though “today” started at 5:15am. But for a face this cute, I’ll allow it.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Stats Get Back, Honky Cat

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HoST  |  September 1, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I wish I could pull steamships with my teeth like Jack La Lanne.

    Reply
  • 2. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  September 1, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Oh, projectile vomiting, how I (DON’T) miss you.

    Reply
  • 3. Cedar  |  September 2, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Being that cute should be illegal. Her cheeks could move mountains!

    Reply
  • 4. kristin  |  September 2, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Oh good! I can blame SADIE for my vomit-a-thon this morning! She totally sent all her germs across state lines to get me.

    But I forgive her, because LOOK AT THAT FACE.

    Reply
  • 5. Amy  |  September 2, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Ugh. It’s so hard when they’re sick. Sometimes I feel like if it’s not coming out one end, be prepared for it to come out the other.

    I’ve decided when you become a parent, it’s a prerequisite to think your own kids are cute. Otherwise, upon the first 2 hour incidence of whining, you would kill them. Like in the wild.

    But I will validate your thoughts. Sadie is effing cute. And I’m not her mom, so it must be true.

    Reply
  • 6. Mermanda  |  September 3, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    we have that juicer. mmm…. juice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

