Show Me That Smile Again

October 23, 2009 at 10:38 am 10 comments

So, I was PLANNING on posting another PAY IT FORWARD! today (and it’s a doozy, I assure you), and I was already rushed because of the insane clusterfuckery that is two neurotic parents preparing to leave their preciouswonderfulperfectangelbaby with relatives for the weekend, and then last night when I was bathing Sadie, she grabbed my finger and started chewing and that’s when I felt…something sharp.

jonYEEEEEEEEEAAAAHHHH!

(Uh, by the way, have you seen this picture of Lil Jon in high school?

liljon_hsWHAT? OKAAAAAYYYYY!)

Yes, my GROWING-UP-WAY-TOO-FAST 6-month old is cutting her first tooth, which explains her recent ability to go from zero to OMG! FML! in less than 60 seconds. This is all happening just in time for our weekend away, meaning we are saddling her poor, unsuspecting aunt and uncle with a teething baby. I am currently feeling three things:

  1. Relief at being able to have someone else deal with Guy Smiley for the weekend;
  2. INSANE GUILT AND WORRY because me and my magical calming rack will not be around to soothe her;
  3. Sympathy for my brother-in-law and his wife.

guy-smiley

Good Lord, I hope not. It’s going to be really hard to find a sitter after that.

Enjoy your weekend, Internet.  See you on the other (much toothier) side.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Germ Warfare Two Days, Twelve Years

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie Z  |  October 23, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Have fun and try to relax. I am not going to blow smoke up your a.. you will miss her like crazy and worry regardless of whomever is taking care of her. Just remember at least you will get to sleep and move around without taking care your perfect baby for a couple of days.

    Reply
  • 2. Kerry  |  October 23, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Eep! I am not looking forward to the teething stage. My nice laid back calm baby turning into a crying machine and breaking my heart cause there is nothing I can do beyond the magic of baby oragel? No thanks.

    And EFFING FANTASTIC picture of little, oops I mean LIL, Wayne.

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  October 23, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    First tooth at 6 months…that sounds about right. Rumor has it (and I found this to be true with both my kids), if they have a fever and/or runny nose (clear, not green or yellow), then they’re probably getting a tooth. File that away in the mental locker.

    And have fun this weekend! I will live vicariously through you, JT.

    Reply
  • 4. Sara  |  October 23, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Now the Growing Pains theme song is in my head. Thanks! And…oh man, those two photos are high-larious!

    Have a great weekend! Perhaps Sadie will have more two teeth by the time you get back. As long as they got each other…

    Reply
  • 5. shelli  |  October 23, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Have a fanfuckingfabulous time!

    And to help remove some of the guilt, once the tooth cuts through, the worst of it is over…

    Reply
  • 6. shelli  |  October 23, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    and the smoosh, for the record, going on 11 months? Still no freaking teeth!

    And? Am SO jealous. Outside of when Narda sleep trained Noah Matan one night, I haven’t been away from the kids overnight. It is high time, I tell ya!

    Reply
  • 7. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  October 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Uh, yeah, the magical calming rack? Gonna have to get used to some teeth. Ow, is what I’m saying. So I hope you REEEEEEALLY enjoy this weekend.

    Reply
  • 8. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  October 23, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    aw…little teeth!

    Reply
  • 9. Marcy  |  October 23, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I agree w/ Amy on the fever/runny nose thing. My first born would always get bad diaper rash too so load up on the Buttpaste.

    Enjoy your weekend away!

    Reply
  • 10. FoST  |  October 26, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Teething?? WOW!!! Doesn’t seem possible! Watch out rack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


