Nine Months

January 11, 2010 at 1:58 pm 19 comments

I have a journal that I’m keeping for Sadie, in which I try (TRY!) to regularly write about all the things I want to say to her that she can’t understand right now. It sounds touching, yes, but understand that my main motivation for keeping this journal is that I am morbidly terrified that I will get flattened by a city bus or contract a deadly flesh-eating virus before I have the chance to explain to her that OH MY GOD, when you were nine months old I wanted to dip you in buttercream and devour you whole.

Fortunately, I am never at a loss for things I want to say to her. I want her to know that I kissed the back of her fuzzy head so much throughout her infanthood that I genuinely worried I’d create a bald spot. I want her to know that her sheer excitement and joy over seeing her Daddy walk into a room nearly caused her to fish-flop out of my arms on numerous occasions. I want her to know that I never intentionally dressed her up to look like a total douche, but sometimes people send you gifts and…

Haaaaa.

UNfortunately, however, I never seem to have the time or the energy to write in her journal as much as I’d like to. And this is when I have to turn to the blog. Because my formerly be-bonnet-ed baby is NINE MONTHS OLD today, Internet, and there are some things I really need her to know.

First things first: You flip your shit whenever I leave the room, and I won’t even front: I LOVE THIS.

Your Daddy can make you laugh just by looking at you. He never passes up an opportunity to get a smile out of you. You never pass up an opportunity to give him one.

You have two bottom teeth, and a nub of a top front tooth poking through, with its mate not far behind. We may have taken to calling you Bucky Beaver. This is done out of love. We’ll stop before you’re old enough to be scarred, I promise.

You can clap, wave, point, imitate sounds, and HOLY SHIT, you can pretty much stand unassisted now, and I AM NOT READY FOR THAT CAN OF WORMS, NO SIR.

You are growing up way too fast, but I forgive you. I have absolutely lost my mind with crazy love for you, but I hope you’ll forgive me back.

Happy Nine Months, Pigeon. You’re super, super swell.

Entry filed under: Thanksgiving.

PAY IT FORWARD: “If peeing your pants is cool, consider me Miles Davis.” PAY IT FORWARD: My Own Personal Hell(mo)

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HoST  |  January 11, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    JT, do you write these things with the intention of making Daddy cry? DO YOU?!

    Oh, Pigeon, I cannot BELIEVE it’s been 9 months already. Happy semi-Birthday!

    Reply
  • 2. Adlib  |  January 11, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Aww, great post. Sadie is literally one of the cutest babies I have ever seen. I have baby nephews now so I guess I have to rate them above her, but they’re boys so I think I can separate them into separate categories. 🙂 Before I ever had any kids near me or in my life, Sadie is what I thought of in my head whenever someone said “cute baby”.

    I know it sounds strange, but she really is. She’s got that classic look about her. 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:59 am

      Thank you! As you can imagine, you are now one of my most favorite people.

      Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    I commend you for keeping a journal. Haley’s baby book is an At-A-Glance calendar (pathetic) and Trevor didn’t even get that (more pathetic.)

    This is such a sweet post. Isn’t it just sickening how much you can possibly love something/someone? Haley begged me the other day to “stop petting and kissing her.” NEVER.

    You are so totally having another one. Some day.

    Reply
    • 5. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:58 am

      They’re like potato chips. It’s hard to stop at one.

      Reply
  • 6. kristin @ going country  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    But will you stop calling her Pigeon before she’s old enough to be scarred? I bet not.

    I’m looking at the ultra-cute little nursery you have there and feeling very inadequate about our (lack of) preparations for the man-cub. He will have no precious decals and baby lampshades. He’ll be lucky to have heat.

    Reply
    • 7. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:56 am

      No worries. All he’s gonna want is boobs.

      Reply
  • 8. Holly Jane  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Yep. Our baby book says “looks like Danny Devito”, “has his mom’s butt”, quotes reactions from relatives upon the birth of our darling offspring (“Oh well.” “Welcome to the real world.” “HOLY SHIT.” Thanks, loving family) and the rest of it is blank. The second one didn’t get anything. So good job! ^_^

    Reply
    • 9. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:56 am

      Haha! “Oh, well.” Brilliant.

      And I submit that most babies look like Danny Devito at birth. Or Wilford Brimley. Oddly enough, this does not mean Danny Devito or Wilford Brimley are in any way adorable (although I’m sure at least one of them wears diapers).

      Reply
  • 10. Sara  |  January 11, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Sadie is so adorable! Even in a bonnet. Which you’ll promise to never put her in again. Thank you.

    Reply
    • 11. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:54 am

      Oh, I promise.

      Reply
  • 12. Kylan  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Pointing, waving, clapping and imitating? Keep it up guys!! She is totally the quintessential definition of “cute baby” in my book too! (And my life consists of hanging out with those under the age of 3!!) Happy 9 months, Ms. Sadie!!

    Reply
    • 13. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:53 am

      YAY! The Baby Expert confirms that my baby is, indeed, a damn genius.

      Reply
  • 14. shelli  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:50 am

    please bring her to NYC soon, so we can set up this Shidduch already (Jewish match making) with Noah Matan. Because can you imagine the CHEEKS ON THE KIDS – OY! 🙂

    Reply
    • 15. jiveturkey  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:51 am

      I think I’ve told you before that Sadie’s favorite friend at daycare is a little boy named Noah. COINCIDENCE? I think not.

      Reply
  • 16. TNG  |  January 12, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I have the same thing! I call it my ‘in case I die’ book. Nice, eh?

    I have yet to ah, document the birth of the second child in there. Also nice, no?

    And now I have this dilemma–do I [not] write in one journal, or two? I’m thinking that they’re going to have to SHARE.

    Also, and lastly, 9 months I find to be the absolute PEAK OF CUTENESS. Beware the urge to make another one may strike…

    Reply
    • 17. Adlib  |  January 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm

      Come to think of it, my sister-in-law got pregnant with her second when her first was right around 9 months!

      Reply
  • 18. hillary  |  January 12, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Your child is fucking adorable. I’m sorry for the profanity but it seemed necessary. Seriously! Cutest baby!

    Reply
  • 19. FoST  |  January 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Happy 9 months Sadie!!! I love the first picture – too cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

