Digging Out

February 9, 2010 at 11:53 pm 6 comments

So, as you may have heard, our area of the country got a little bit of snow. I’m really tired of thinking and talking about it, so I’ve boiled it down to a few highlights:

  1. It snowed a whole shit ton;
  2. There is apparently one snowplow in the entire city of Pittsburgh;
  3. I have not stepped outside of the house since Friday afternoon.

Is it still, like, all oxygen-y out there and stuff?

Being housebound is one of those tricky things that can cross over from AWESOME! territory into SOMEWHAT HELLISH! territory very, very quickly. Allow me to explain:

Wearing pajamas for an entire weekend = AWESOME

Wearing pajamas for four days straight without the excuse of recent childbirth or major surgery and forgetting how to work things like “zippers” or “shoes” = SOMEWHAT HELLISH

Cozy indoor time with family = AWESOME

Cozy indoor time with family with only two waffles left in the freezer  = SOMEWHAT HELLISH

Your office being closed two days in a row = AWESOME

Your husband’s office being closed three days in a row because the people who run your office must think you’re some kind of fucking Iditarod champion who can magically manage to get her ass to work even though every other major institution within a five mile radius of our office is closed = DEFINITELY HELLISH

And only a slightly smaller travesty than the fact that this movie was made.

Anyway, I apologize for my absence around these parts. I really have no excuse, except that I’ve been enjoying the shit out of some glorious consecutive daycare-free days with the shorty. It’s been nice to be offline…although it hasn’t been much of a conscious choice. More like I just happen to find something else to do (NAPPING) while Sadie takes a nap (LIKE PERHAPS NAPPING).

BECAUSE CHRIST KNOWS I HAVEN’T BEEN HELD UP BY SHOWERING.

I’ll write more later when I’m not dead-ass tired (wearing elastic waistbands is so exhausting), but right now I’ve got to catch up on the lives of all you lovely blogging pretties. Maybe one of you even left the house within the last 24 hours!

A life not lived in slippers is not a life worth living.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

GUEST POST: Sister Francis, Over Easy Emerging

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristin @ going country  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Uh. I didn’t really leave the house. And we didn’t even get any snow.

    Your last four days? Basically my whole life.

    Reply
  • 2. The New Girl  |  February 10, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    If I don’t leave the house for a few days, I find myself NOT WANTING to leave the house. True fucking story. Weird, though, right?

    Reply
  • 3. Sara  |  February 10, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I’m so glad we didn’t get all that snow! Today it snowed south of us, but we only got about an inch (if that). And while I would love to be snowbound in my house for a day or two, I don’t even think that would happen; I’m sure my office would NEVER CLOSE. Effers. And the thought of shoveling all that snow makes me want to vomit.

    Reply
  • 4. Marcy  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    At least your office was closed. Apparently no one cares at my company if I die in a crash while trying to make my way in to the office. Lord knows the filing and copying absolutely CANNOT wait a day or two.

    Reply
  • 5. shelli  |  February 11, 2010 at 12:29 am

    took the kids out to the backyard MID SNOWSTORM today, just for a change of scenery. Malka? Made snow angels. Smoosh? DISLIKE! Cheeks to the floor with the drooping frown!

    Reply
  • 6. sweetbird  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    We’re getting your snow starting tonight. I’m hoping that the power goes out and I have no option but to not finish my homework so I don’t have to beg for extensions because I’ve been hellishly sick for the last week.

    And so I can use run-on sentences like that in my term paper due on Sunday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


