Emerging

February 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm 11 comments

Well, I made it out of the house today, Internet.

So, this is one of the more tame images that came up when I did an image search for “emerging.” I spent way too much time imaging what “Emerging! Fayrene & Steve” meant (conclusion: ENTIRELY DISTURBING) before discovering it was a cover for a Christian CD that has been pending release since…April of 2007. Oh, Fayrene.

The week has been a blur of all-day pajama fests and intermittent showering (which is to say: AWESOME), but I’m happy to see life returning to some semblance of normal. The roads are much, MUCH better than they were a few days ago, and I didn’t have too much trouble driving in to work this morning. Of course, the alley behind our house – a.k.a. the only way to access our garage – is pretty much a narrow, high-walled maze of snow. It’s like The Shining – The Ride!

Probably also stole our snow shovel.

Anyhoo, after our impromptu hibernation, I’m totally excited about the coming weekend and following week. Tomorrow, Brad and I are taking a Thai cooking class together, so we can pretend like we’ll make all kinds of delicious Thai cuisine at home instead of going out and paying someone else to do it. See, Brad got me gift certificates to cooking classes for Christmas, and I have to tell you this because he gets SO DEFENSIVE when I tell people this was his gift to me, because he worries that the world will think he is a huge asshole pig who threw a gift-wrapped cooking class brochure at his wife and said, “Here – learn to cook already. Where’s my beer? Shouldn’t you be bearing me a son right now?”

“Should I put my head in the oven and THEN turn it on? Or turn it on first? Jeepers!”

As soon as I opened my gift, he was all “THESE ARE FOR BOTH OF US! TO TAKE TOGETHER! AS A COUPLE! LIKE DATES! WITH ROMANCE!”, because he was so concerned I’d be offended. He also had similar fears of being perceived as a huge dickwad whenever he bought me a KitchenAid mixer for Christmas, even though HELLO, the KitchenAid mixer is – as we all know – almost illegally awesome.

Mine is also PINK, for shit’s sake, and may have spent its first night at home sleeping in our bed.

We also have plans to use our fancy cooking class skills by going out to a fancy Valentine’s Day dinner on Tuesday evening, thanks to a gift certificate (complete with babysitting services) that FoST and husband generously gave us for Christmas. But first, I have my audition on Monday evening. I’m pretty confident I’m not a good fit for the part, but I just want to flex the ol’ acting muscles again (DIRTY), and – crazy as it sounds – I just like auditioning. I mean, it’s basically performing. In front of a captive audience. Who is judging your every move.

In other news, I am happy to report that we were lucky enough to have a plentiful supply of beer in the house for this week’s snowstorm.

Enjoy your weekend, Internet!

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Digging Out “We can talk or not talk for hours, and still find things to not talk about.”

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sweetbird  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Thai cooking classes? That’s pretty much one of the best gifts ever. EVER.

    Also, many people had the same reaction when they found out that my husband bought me a Kitchenaid Stand Mixer (which I named Trogdor: The Mixinator) for our anniversary. I was like, bitch please, that’s the most thoughtful gift anyone has ever given me.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie Z  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Very sweet of Brad. Have fun! And I lurve the pink kitchen Aid! Mind is a gray and white one purchased about 20 years ago. To coin an old jingle not for Kitchen aids, those things take a licking and keep on kicking!

    Reply
  • 3. Marcy  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    OMG! Those are amazing gifts! Way to go Brad!

    Reply
  • 4. Deidre  |  February 13, 2010 at 12:17 am

    I LOOOVE my KitchenAid mixer I think I want another one. Love your blog. Sorry I’m a lurker most times. Have a great weekend.

    Reply
    • 5. Deidre  |  February 13, 2010 at 12:20 am

      Also Sorry the name Deidre can be soo difficult sometimes. Try living with it. OH and to top it off my maiden name was a nightmare. Miazgowicz. Try that one on. I went through school known as Deidre Alphabet.

      Reply
  • 6. shelli  |  February 13, 2010 at 1:42 am

    you have the most awesome husband. EVER. in the awesomeness of husbanddom.

    Narda doesn’t cook. She doesn’t “do” kitchen things – I cannot even BEGIN to tell you HOW sexy it would be if she bought us a couples cooking class – oh SWOON!

    Brad gets some serious points on that one – PLUS a farking kitchenaid?

    He’ll be getting some for a while, yo! 😉

    Reply
  • 7. tourist2010  |  February 13, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    If you like cookiing Thai food, may I recommend this site
    http://www.thaifoodtonight.com

    Reply
  • 8. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  February 13, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Break a leg at auditions! I spent this morning judging auditions for the drama scholarship from the [name of our city] Women’s Club. The first auditioner was a young woman (high school senior) whom I know slightly. She is a transgendered person, so she essentially lives her life as a man, and pretty much only plays male roles. The piece she chose today for her audition was that of a young gay man whose lover has just died of AIDS and who is confronting said lover’s mother at said lover’s funeral. How do you think that went over with the 112 year old ladies who were the rest of the audition committee?

    Reply
  • 9. Swistle  |  February 13, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    I was making some judgey remarks to Paul about how I didn’t get it when women got practical household items for Christmas and didn’t complain about it, and he said nervously, “But not, like, a pink Kitchenaid mixer…right?” and I said “OH GOD NO, THAT IS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT!!” because I DESPERATELY want a pink Kitchenaid mixer. I meant, like, when a woman received things that should have come out of the household budget because they were for EVERYONE’S use/benefit. Whereas a pink Kitchenaid mixer would be MINE ALL MINE NO ONE ELSE MAY TOUCH IT HISSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. FoST  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Fayrene? Fayrene?? Hahahah….

    Reply
  • 11. Mermanda  |  February 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Looking at this KitchenAid mixer photo just gave me an “Ah-ha!” moment about my own mixer. SO THAT’S WHAT THAT PLASTIC SHIELD IS FOR! Can you please take a moment to imagine me trying to dump my ingredients in without that thing? It is messy and I’m happy if 3/4 of it makes it into the bowl. Oh, silly me. I am obviously domestically challenged and do not deserve such an illegally awesome appliance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


