I Get It Now

February 18, 2010 at 2:13 pm 18 comments

Back in August of 1995, after my parents hugged me goodbye in my steamy, non-air conditioned freshman dorm room at the University of Kentucky, I watched them walk down the hall to the elevator. As they went to turn the corner, my Mom suddenly burst into sobs. My Dad looked back at me and smiled, took my Mom by the shoulders and led her around the bend. I remember not really understanding why she was so upset.

I get it now.

(Apologies in advance for making you lose your shit at work.)

Entry filed under: Thanksgiving.

“We can talk or not talk for hours, and still find things to not talk about.” Some Guys Like To Hit It and Quit It…

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MLE  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    The Visa/Olympics commercial about Dan Jansen and his sister Jane who died and his promise to her and his fall and his gold 6 years later and his victory lap with his daughter Jane made me cry. Damn you, Olympics commercials!

    Reply
    • 2. MLE  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      This one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWYRH5jnQBo

      Reply
      • 3. jiveturkey  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:38 pm

        OH I KNOOOOOOOOW!! Also, the Coke one about the Special Olympics. SOB.

    • 4. Mermanda  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      ME TOO! Big lump in my throat just thinking about it.

      Reply
  • 5. FoST  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Waahhhh!!! Hahah…that is really cute.

    Reply
  • 6. Simon  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Best commercial ever. I hold it together until the PERFECT shot of the mom at the end, and then I’m a mess. Thank god for the DVR, or I’d be dehydrated by now.

    Reply
    • 7. jiveturkey  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:29 pm

      The mom at the end kills me too. And I’m pretty sure that’s the same face I’d be wearing if I had to watch Sadie fly down a ski slope at 80 mph OMG.

      Reply
  • 8. Paige  |  February 18, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    omg…I started to lose my shit as it went on, and then I saw the mom. Tears are still streaming down my face. Oh lord. And I don’t even have kids.

    Reply
  • 9. Adlib  |  February 18, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    I don’t have kids either, but I absolutely love this commercial. Even if I think about it without watching it makes me almost well up.

    Also count me in on the Dan Jansen commercial.

    Reply
  • 10. kdiddy  |  February 18, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    right? there’s another related commercial that lists all of P&G’s products like Tide and Pampers and then flashes “Proud sponsor of moms,” and I was like, “Oh, THANKS, P&G. Because I’m a mom, I’m automatically the one buying Tide and Pampers, right? I have nothing else going on in my life, right? Fuck you.” Then that commercial came on and I was crying too hard to get made anymore.

    Reply
    • 11. jiveturkey  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:28 pm

      I had the same reaction to the whole “mom” angle (just like those fucking “Choosy Moms Choose JIF” commercials – like, what? People with penises can’t buy peanut butter? Fuck you, chauvinistic protein source!), but DAMMIT if they just didn’t nail it with that commercial.

      Reply
  • 12. hillary  |  February 18, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    jesus

    I need to go look at pictures of dogs with hair now so I can stop crying at work

    Reply
  • 14. Dana  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    I know me too. Makes me cry every time.

    Thanks for making me cry again, JT. you suck.

    Reply
  • 15. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Hmmm. I hadn’t seen this commercial before, and up until the shot of the mom at the end, I was just thinking “Hey, cute little kids.” Now I’m wondering if I would have teared up, or if the suggestion was just planted in my brain by all of you and I responded like Pavlov’s dogs.

    BTW, JT – the August: Osage County tour is in our city now, and I have tickets for next Tuesday. We saw it on B’way 2 years ago with Deanna Dunagan’s understudy, but on Tuesday we get to see Estelle Parsons! Yippee! (I remember how you raved about her when you saw it.)

    Reply
    • 16. jiveturkey  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      WOOOO! You’re going to swoon. She is thoroughly awesome.

      Reply
  • 17. shelli  |  February 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I totally cried at this one!

    Oh, and how in the world did you find out about that picture of you?

    Reply
  • 18. Frank  |  February 22, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    After we dropped our daughter (out first born) off at college for her freshmane year, my wife cried for the first 30 or so miles on the ride home. I’m right there with your parents.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


