PAY IT FORWARD: How to Get Through Life…in the Manner of a Lazy, Entitled Asswipe

February 23, 2010 at 2:53 pm 7 comments

Hello, Internet! It’s time to pay a bitch forward again. I bring you photos of babies, trite, poorly worded advice, and inappropriately aggressive sentiments about friendship.

Forwards: electronic versions of your most annoying relatives!

The most BRILLIANT part of this forward is that one of the many, many, many, many people who at some point forwarded it accidentally attached her Outlook profile information to the email. That means that, hey, N**** L*** of C******** P****** Co., Inc.! You just sent your private and business contact information to countless numbers of total strangers! FORWARD FAIL.

Although, really, is there any such thing as a forward WIN?

Subject: FW: [Junk released by Allow List] Fw: How to get through life

Ah, you know it’s going to be a good one when it got caught by the junk mail filter somewhere along the line.

OK. I’m on board with that.

Cool with this also, although we are entering “Babies Dressed Like Adults” territory, which is adjacent to “Babies Dressed Like Animals,” and also perilously close to the completely unacceptable “Babies Dressed Like Fruits and Vegetables.”

Like the creator of this forward, for example.

Alllllright. Here’s where we go completely off the rails. First of all, I like babies and everything, but something about this picture sets my teeth on edge, and I’m guessing it’s probably the fact that someone’s bouncing baby girl is in chewing on her feet in a fucking TERRACOTTA POT.

And the caption? Well, I imagine this is the very same thinking that brought restraining orders and Valtrex into the world.

Even if you have to pay for it.

Internet, that is poop face. I know I’ve only been at this mothering gig for ten months, but that right there is straight-up poop face. SOMEONE TOOK A PICTURE OF POOP FACE AND IS SENDING IT TO YOUR INBOX.

Really, forward? Of all the MILLIONS of pictures in the world of babies shoving birthday cake in their faces/pouring bowls of spaghetti over their heads/dumping entire boxes of cereal on the floor, all you can manage is a picture of a baby eating a goddamn piece of MELBA TOAST?! REALLY?!

I was going to bitch about how we already fucking TALKED about affection, FORWARD…but then I realized that this photo is not about affection. As the younger sibling of a sister who was not always so thrilled to have me around, I recognize this as the classic toddler trick “Do what looks like hugging the baby so the adults think it’s cute but actually squeeze and pinch that stupid attention-stealing baby and remind her who’s boss.”

Smooth, toddler. Very smooth.

See above re: Poop Face.

(But I admit this is pretty cute. DAMMIT! Who am I?!)

However, I’m not sure what kind of advice “get angry once in a while” is.  Whatever happened to bottling up your anger until you get an ulcer the size of a softball?

Wait, what? Why am I looking at clip art of one of those stupid calendars every receptionist is required by law to have on her desk? Is that the hallmark of a life well lived? Have we all been fools to assume otherwise?! OH, DONNA,YOU WERE SO WISE AND I DID NOT LISTEN!*

Also, I’m pretty sure no one has ever said “Have a great life!” in sincerity. That is the shit you say to your cheating husband right before you drop a match into his gasoline-soaked Mercedes.**

This was an animated gif, and I am still cleaning the vomit from my keyboard.

Because it’s hard to read, here’s what the balloon-adorned bullshit above says:

“Life is too short to wake up with regrets. So love the people who treat you right. Forget about the ones who don’t. Believe everything happens for a reason. If you get a second chance grab it with both hands. If it changes your life, let it. Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it. Friends are like balloons, once you let them go, you can’t get them back. So I’m gonna tie you to my heart so I never lose you. Send this to all your friends including me and see how many you get back.  Send this balloon to everybody you like. You may also return it to me. If four balloons are returned to you, something you have been waiting for a long time will happen!!! Believe me….. It really happens! Send a lot of little balloons to your friends!!!”

Now allow me to share my interpretation:

“Life is too short to wake up with regrets [or your shift manager at the Olive Garden]. So love the people who treat you right. Forget about the ones who don’t. Believe everything happens for a reason [otherwise you’ll probably blow your brains out by age 23]. If you get a second chance [to give Christian Bale a handy-jay] grab it with both hands. If it changes your life, let it [then resent the shit out of it]. Nobody said life [or your first girlfriend] would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it [you’d spend most of your adult years rotting in a cubicle]. Friends are like balloons, once you let them go, you can’t get them back [sometimes you want to drive sharp things into them until they disappear]. So I’m gonna tie you to my heart so I never lose you [because if I can’t have you, NO ONE can have you, and hey, can I have a bag of your hair when you get a minute?]. Send this to all your friends including me and see how many you get back.  Send this balloon to everybody you like [balloon not included]. You may also return it to me [if I didn’t make that clear enough in the previous sentences HI I WANT TO DRINK YOUR URINE]. If four balloons are returned to you, something you have been waiting for a long time will happen!!! [then you have four friends who are bored beyond belief at work and will probably be laid off soon]. Believe me….. It really happens! Send a lot of little balloons to your friends!!! [Someone respond to me! I haven’t been touched in seven years!]

*Donna was the receptionist at one of my numerous jobs in NYC, and I had to repeatedly answer the phones for her one fateful day when she got a little overzealous with the cod liver oil that she took to relieve her…irregularity. Oh, Donna.

**SOMEONE’S seen Waiting to Exhale one too many times.

Oh yes she did.

Entry filed under: PAY IT FORWARD!.

Some Guys Like To Hit It and Quit It… Wha’ Happened?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  February 23, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Thank you for referring to both Melba Toast and Waiting To Exhale in the same blogpost. I don’t know where you find all the magic, but it makes me laugh and laugh!

    Reply
  • 2. bird  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    the last photo (not angela bassett) of the chile with flowers on the head ironically seems like a photo of an actual stressed out chile.

    but this entire forward makes me want to smack something or burn my exhusband’s belongings in a huge fire (thank you for waiting…to exhale).

    Reply
  • 3. SF Reader  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Hahaha!! Poop face! C-Bale Handy Jay!

    Genius, my friend.

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    This, “Friends are like balloons, [sometimes you want to drive sharp things into them until they disappear].” is the best status update ever. OMG. I’m blowing snot bubbles, I’m laughing so hard.

    Reply
  • 5. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Also, the picture of the baby thats just above the calendar clip art is a picture of a baby peeing in her sleep. So ya got Poop Face and Pee Face in the same forward.

    In unrelated news… saw August: Osage County last night. Would have liked to see Estelle Parsons with the rest of the B’way cast. The touring folks were good, but not as good as the original cast. But it’s still a damn good show. My 12-y-o son even liked it and stayed awake for the whole thing.

    Reply
  • 6. Amy  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I like your interpretation much better. Clearly more accurate.

    Reply
  • 7. Kylan  |  March 1, 2010 at 8:51 am

    “A bag of your hair…” has to be my favorite part.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


