ONE

April 12, 2010 at 1:53 pm 23 comments

So, this cute little bald chick I know turned one this weekend.

As I am a melodramatic and emotional fool, I expected to get a little choked up at 6pm on Sunday, because that would mark a grand 365 days since this whole adorable dog & pony show emerged from the ol’ brewster, but what actually happened was that I was busy preparing dinner at 6pm on Sunday and didn’t realize the moment had passed until 6:19. Not to worry! I made up for it by weeping (happily!) in grand fashion every other damn moment of the weekend.

When I wasn’t behind one of two cameras or facilitating my daughter’s hesitant face plant into a hydrogenated wonderland of sugary frosting.

Oh, Sadie.

I’ve been trying (and failing) to wrap my mind around where the past year with you has gone. It started out uneventful enough, just hanging out in a labor & delivery suite, sipping on 7up and watching The Mummy, as you do.

I took some random self-portraits because, damn, waiting for this Pitocin to kick in is boring, yo!

I made sure to mock the extreme pain that showed up precisely 20 minutes after this photo was taken:

And then – whoa – there was like, this little person there all of a sudden.

(OMG LOOK HOW SMALL!)

And I looked at my husband, and he was suddenly a father.

And I was suddenly someone’s strangely bloated and hormonally-enhanced mother.

You’ll notice my repetition of the word “suddenly.” That’s because it was the overriding theme of the past year, as you suddenly became one month old…

I KNOW! No one was as shocked as I was.

…and then two months old…

BAD. ASS.

…and then THREE months old (and oh my goodness, I cannot get over how tiny you look in your high chair).

You started cooing at three months, and if I had gone completely deaf the instant after I heard that sound, I would have been totally OK with it. Because really, it was the tops. And you looked so damn cute doing it, too.

You started daycare at four months, and DAMN, it was hard to leave that face in the morning.

S’cool, though. We made up for it on the evenings and weekends. You enjoyed your first Steelers season at five months…

…your first Halloween at six months…

…and your first Thanksgiving at seven months.

By Christmas, you were an eight-month-old bundle of pure personality.

By nine months, your body was finally starting to catch up to the get-up-and-go mentality you’ve had since day one.

At ten months, you took everything in. I could see you thinking, considering, examining. You were getting so independent.

(But you still needed me.)

(Thank goodness.)

You evolved into the biggest ham at eleven months, and as your aunt said, you sure aren’t stingy with the smiles.

Except, of course, when things are SO HORRIBLY, TRAGICALLY WRONG AND UNFAIR, O NOES!!1!!11!

(Do they teach that back-arching thing in daycare or something? Because, seriously, THEY ALL KNOW HOW TO DO IT.)

And now – quick as that (quicker, even) – you’re twelve months old. I wouldn’t trade one single second of the past year for anything. I love you more than I will ever be able to express. And I can’t wait to see what you’re gonna do next.

Happy Birthday, little Pigeon.

[You can watch a short video of the birthday festivities here. Keep an ear out for my voice cracking with Embarrassing Mom Emotions at the end of the “Happy Birthday” song!]

Entry filed under: Thanksgiving.

PAY IT FORWARD: The Grating-est Generation We Want The Funk

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HoST  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I can’t wait until Sadie can read these incredible posts from you someday. I mean… I can wait. I can totally wait. SLOW DOWN WITH THE GROWING UP!

    But Mommy’s cataloging of everything is going to mean so much.

    Also, why do you continue to want to make a grown man cry at his desk? It’s so unprofessional looking.

    Reply
    • 2. SF Reader  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      Um, I LOVE how in the video you’re all: “here, Sadie. Have a bite of an ENTIRE CAKE! I’ll pick it up for you and shove it on in there”

      Reply
  • 3. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Little precious girl!

    Reply
  • 4. littleelle  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    good lord woman! what an adorable little girl.

    i was weeping through the entire post (and then totally lost it at HoST’s comment).

    cute little family!

    Reply
  • 5. Amy  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Awww – I am wondering about that back arch thing too…

    Reply
  • 6. kdiddy  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Happy Birthday, Sadie! And Happy Birthing Day, to you JT and the ol’ brewster!

    Reply
  • 7. Adlib  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    So cute, and let me just say that this is a much better way of cataloging baby events than those sad baby books we had when I was growing up. Mom was pretty good at keeping up with it for a while, but I think she either lost one (probably my sister’s) or skipped a couple years. Ha!

    This will be enjoyable for Sadie to read when she gets older. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. hillary  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Happy birthday, Sadie!

    Reply
  • 9. shelli  |  April 12, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    the “back arching thing” OH FOR THE FUCKING LOVE OF EVERYTHINGHOLYINTHEUNIVERSE!!!!!

    Mother fucker.

    We call it “going yoga”

    As in: “Oh DON’T go all yoga on my dude, put your feet on the floor, I’m just stepping over here. TWO FEET AWAY”

    Lordy.

    But on the brighter side of life – HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SADIE!

    Love, the auntie you’ve never met in NYC, mother to your future husband. Should, you know, you like guys and all. And should, you know, my kid like girls and all. 😉

    Reply
  • 10. Amy  |  April 13, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Happy 1st to Sadie. Big day. Wonderful day. And for the record – she will always need you. Even if it doesn’t seem like it for a while.

    Reply
  • 11. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  April 13, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Wow, I can’t believe she’s one. Happy Birthday, Sadie! Good job so far, Mom and Dad.

    Reply
  • 12. Lawyerish  |  April 13, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Don’t mind me. I am just sitting over here weeping like a damn FOOL. She was so tiny! And now she’s so big! And she has a whole personality and everything! And my GOD, is she ever CUTE.

    Reply
  • 13. magdalena  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Lola sends her happiest birthday drool and arm waving! She has saved you the cupcake with the most frosting. Also wants to know who your couturier is and covets your tiara.

    Ciao Mon Pigeon!

    Reply
  • 14. sweetbird  |  April 13, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Wow – a whole year. I remember when I first started reading your blog it was just a few months before you found out you were pregnant. Dang.

    Happy Birthday Sadie! We here on teh intarwebz luvz you!

    Reply
  • 15. kristin @ going country  |  April 13, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    One already? I don’t know how that happened, but I do know this: You two produced one seriously adorable child. Happy birthday to Sadie.

    Reply
  • 16. Marcy  |  April 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    This post made me smile & cry at the SAME time! Happy 1st birthday Sadie!!!

    Reply
  • 17. Leah  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Oh, Sadie. It’s been a pleasure getting to know you this first year. Your mom and pops are damn fools for you, and don’t you forget it. What I mean is be nice to them as one morphs into TERRIBLE TWO OH NOES!!1!!1.

    Reply
  • 18. Leah  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Had to comment again because the video killed me. She’s so expressive! And such a crack-up with the fake-outs and raised eyebrows. I love her!

    Reply
  • 19. The New Girl  |  April 14, 2010 at 1:48 am

    It IS amazing how fast it goes. For me it’s weird fast/slow combo. You look back at those pictures and can’t believe it’s the same person who’s now…a PERSON.

    I can’t believe that my first baby is going to be THREE. Talking in full-on paragraphs. It breaks and heals your heart all at once.

    Happy Birthday to your beautiful Sadie.

    Reply
  • 20. MLE  |  April 14, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Happy birthday to my favorite Blueberry Girl. 🙂

    Reply
  • 21. Sara  |  April 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    How did I not see this awesome post sooner? And how has it been one year already? Happy birthday, gorgeous Sadie!

    Reply
  • 22. Mermanda  |  April 15, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Love this post. So sweet. That pic of Brad holding the newborn bean is especially precious.

    Reply
  • 23. FoST  |  April 16, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Ok, so I’m behind on JT postings and just read this! Too sweet! So hard to believe she’s grown that much in a year!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


