We Want The Funk

April 14, 2010 at 12:58 pm 16 comments

Actually, we don’t. But, oh, I got it, Internet.

But with decidedly less colorful dreadlocks and decidedly more Advil and body aches.

I don’t get sick often, but it seems I’ve come down with some random Funk, so here I sit at home. Alone. I cannot tell you how unnerving it is to be home alone when you are used to having a shorty around 24/7. I keep having to remind myself that no, she isn’t in her room napping…and then I get sad. Because she’s at daycare while I waste a perfectly good sick day actually being sick instead of playing hooky from work with the cutest damn baby I know.

Alas, I will be forced to eat my peas shirtless and ALONE this afternoon.

I really don’t know what the hell I’ve come down with, but I’m hoping I’m past the worst of it. Last night at rehearsal, I started to feel achy. I thought maybe I was just tired from the night before, or that maybe my legs and back were just punishing me from a day spent in very lumbar-unfriendly boots…aaaaand then I immediately got depressed that I am old enough to feel aches and pains from things like WEARING SHOES. By the time I got home last night, I was in some serious all-over pain. I forced some dinner down my throat and went to bed, only to have strange fever dreams all night long, broken up by the occasional routine of 1) waking, 2) feeling nauseated, 3) deciding that I was far too lazy to address said nausea, and 4) forcing myself back to sleep. By morning, I was feeling just INVIGORATED, as you can imagine.

Good to see that Cat chose an album photo featuring THE BIGGEST STONER EYES IN THE WORLD.

(This song is totally about a wake & bake, isn’t it.)

A few hours, some Advil, and a broken fever later, I’m finally feeling better. I’ve been put under strict orders to REST and not give in to the urge to DO LAUNDRY or CLEAN or WALK FIVE MILES TO SADIE’S DAYCARE AND KISS HER CHEEKS UNTIL THE AUTHORITIES ARE CALLED (Brad is such a killjoy), so that’s what I’m going to try to do.

I gotta tell you though, Internet: for as tired as I usually am in the morning, those three extra hours of sleep I got after Brad & Sadie left? Totally not worth waking up to a house devoid of them.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

ONE What Would Julia Sugarbaker Do?

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MLE  |  April 14, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I was sick all last week, so I feel your pain. Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
    • 2. jiveturkey  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:29 pm

      Thanks, man. Is it possible to catch germs from reading your blog??

      Reply
  • 3. HoST  |  April 14, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    We’re there in spirit, baby! Feel better!

    Reply
  • 4. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  April 14, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Aw, Turkey! Feel better!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly  |  April 14, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Here’s to a good night’s sleep and non-aching bones. Hope you’re on the mend soon.

    Reply
  • 6. Marcy  |  April 14, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Get well soon JT!

    Reply
  • 7. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  April 14, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Feel better!

    Reply
  • 8. kristin @ going country  |  April 14, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    BOOOOO. Hope you’re all better already. Or at least some better.

    Reply
    • 9. jiveturkey  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Indeed I am. Thanks!

      Reply
  • 10. Simon  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:44 am

    I would like to go all snarky & shit, but sick is when snark is the least palatable. So rest up & have some juice, and we’ll get all “I bet Brad wants to force some dinner down your throat” next week.

    Oh, and chicken soup.

    Reply
    • 11. HoST  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      Haha! Dirty.

      Reply
      • 12. jiveturkey  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

        I knew Brad would appreciate that.

  • 13. magdalena  |  April 15, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Hey, JTGS, I hope the fog lifted and your mo-jive is back. I toasted to your return to health over a savory glass of vin last night.

    Slante!

    Reply
    • 14. jiveturkey  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      Thanks!

      Reply
  • 15. shelli  |  April 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    wait till she’s 3.

    You’ll CHERISH the time home alone. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • 16. jiveturkey  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Oh, when she’s 3, I’m sending her to New York to go visit Aunt Shelli for 12 months.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

