Things I Do Not Recommend, Vol. I

April 16, 2010 at 4:47 pm 12 comments

  1. Choosing to hold your 12-month-old daughter in your lap while she receives three shots — based on the fact that all previous immunizations have not traumatized you like everyone said they would (leaving you to assume you are a cold, hard shell of a woman) — only to realize that, when she sits in your lap, you will feel her little body tense and tremble with pain, and your own chest will rattle with her terrified shrieks and wow, that was pretty much the worst feeling, like, EVER.

Thank goodness she had her sunglasses, so she didn’t have to suffer the indignity of reddened eyes on the way out to the car.

Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

What Would Julia Sugarbaker Do? I Should Have Girded My Loins

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristin @ going country  |  April 16, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Cubby is due for his first shots this coming Wednesday. I’m making A. come with me. And I am NOT looking forward to it.

    That photo is awesome.

    Reply
    • 2. magdalena  |  April 17, 2010 at 11:31 am

      Kristin, I gave my hub the job of being right there with her [in her face] while she actually got the shot. The routine is now that he scoops her up and brings her to the boob of endless comfort. I knew if I were right there I’d be crying along with her. Bad vibes, bad scene.

      Reply
    • 3. jiveturkey  |  April 19, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      None of the shots bothered me until now. I was all prepared to be a mess for the first round, and…eh. She cried, but she got over it. Now she makes all these EXPRESSIONS and looks at me with FEAR IN HER EYES and OH MAN.

      Reply
  • 4. Sara  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Oh, poor kid. And poor Mommy. I’m guessing you had your sunglasses handy too, of course.

    Reply
  • 5. Kerry  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Oy, the description you gave broke my own heart. Poor little babies. The only thing that makes it better for Madie is that usually one vaccine is oral and tastes like grape. She sucks those things down like nobodies business. Lock up the cough syrup!

    Reply
  • 6. Amy  |  April 16, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Ugh, shots. They suck. But you’re a better parent for vaccinating, so good for you, JT.

    I think my worst memory is when Haley, at 5 months old, decided to not sleep at night anymore. We let her cry it out. The sound of my girl was so horrible, I cried for longer than she did. But it worked. And she’s made it to the age of 4, sleeping through the night great.

    Reply
  • 7. Marcy  |  April 17, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Shots suck.

    Reply
  • 8. Simon  |  April 18, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Babies are wimps. Plus they have terrible memories. So not to worry.

    Reply
    • 9. jiveturkey  |  April 19, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      That does make me feel better.

      Reply
  • 10. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  April 18, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Yikes. I don’t want to read Vol. 2.

    Reply
  • 11. Chicago Friend of Said Turkey  |  April 20, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I’m pretty sure I’ve given you that look of fear before, too. Probably involved some boxed wine or jack daniels country coolers.

    Reply
  • 12. Kylan  |  April 21, 2010 at 8:07 am

    So sorry I didn’t get to this post sooner! BABY SUNGLASSES fix everything!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!

IMG_0001

Another way to guilt the child

Convalescing

Goofs

Birthday Girl

More Photos

