Plumb Tuckered

May 6, 2010 at 4:19 pm 11 comments

Can someone please explain to me how I’m more tired now that I have a sleeping-through-the-night kind of baby compared to when I had a brand new, hungry-at-all-hours, squishy-old-man-faced model?

In other news: WHO IS THIS?! I simply do not know.

Internet, I’m fucking exhausted. EXHAUSTED. I guess it has to do with having shows Wednesday through Saturday (with two on Friday, OMG), but I kind of want to die every morning when I have to get out of bed. And then again at my desk in the afternoons. And once more when I’m driving to the theatre in the evening. Last night, on my way to the show, I decided that if I could have anything in the world at that very moment — a glass of wine, a huge pizza loaded with cheese and roma tomatoes and basil, a motherfucking baby unicorn filled with Cool Ranch Doritos, ANYTHING — I would choose a nap. A NAP.

WHAT IS FUCKING WRONG WITH ME?!?

What bothers me most is not that I have to deal with the sensation of feeling tapped the fuck out, it’s the fact that my body has THE BALLS to feel exhausted. I mean, Sadie sleeps for roughly 11 uninterrupted hours each night, and when I have a show, Brad happily takes care of mostly all of the morning & evening baby duties. Even with all of these great things, my body has the FUCKING AUDACITY to feel exhausted. I mean, srsly, what gives?

Although my instinct is to jump to reasonable conclusions such as 1) OMG PREGNANT (I’m not, pinky swear) and/or 2) OMG DYING, I think the culprit is mostly mental. Planning for a full day of daycare-work-theatre (with a generous sprinkling of “sharing one carseat-equipped vehicle” and “oh yeah, we should probably have some clean clothes and food in the house”) is wearing my ass out. I cannot muster one extra ounce of giving a shit when it comes to accomplishing anything beyond what is absolutely necessary for survival.

I am hoping this is all just a symptom of having dedicated most of the past month of evenings to the show, and that when it closes this weekend, I’ll feel a resurgence of motivation and inspiration. Because more than once this week, I’ve been seriously bummed out over having to WALK MY ASS TO THE BATHROOM.

Let me just repeat that: I’m so tired that befouling my chair seems preferable to traveling to an actual toilet.


Entry filed under: Gobble-gobble.

Walk It Out Every Mother’s Day has a Mother’s Night…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. magdalena  |  May 6, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    ummm. walking anyone, check? growing like a kudzu, check? Oozing personality and looking adorable at every opportunity [conscious or not], check.

    then there’s you – working, acting and being a mom. check.

    hmmmm…

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  May 6, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I feel ya, JT. I’ve never been so tired in my life. If someone would have told me how fucking hard two kids was, I don’t know that I would have signed up again. I feel like I’m 80.

    Reply
    • 3. Marcy  |  May 6, 2010 at 8:17 pm

      I agree. I’m beat like a rented mule.

      Reply
  • 4. 4th Reader of Said Turkey  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    The day after my show opened a few weeks ago, I took a FOUR-HOUR NAP. And it was the most wonderful thing evar. I feel ya.

    Reply
  • 5. Holly Jane  |  May 7, 2010 at 2:28 am

    This will help:

    http://nimoysunsetpie.tumblr.com/

    Sweet dreams!

    Reply
  • 6. Ri  |  May 7, 2010 at 6:12 am

    and bless here you are sitting at the computer typing to keep us all entertained instead of sleeping.
    Do you have the problem at the moment of being constantly & insanly tired but when it comes time to actually sleep the sleep itself doesnt come for at lease an hour or so after lights out. Thats my issue at the moment. I give you a trophy for all your hard work though x

    Reply
  • 7. Amy  |  May 7, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I live tired & I am not doing a show after work. I do a nap after work. I am so bad at this mommy thing that I leave my son at day care so he can have fun while I try to catch up on some shut eye! (Ahem – yes while I should be vacuuming or something like that.)

    Reply
  • 8. kristin @ going country  |  May 7, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Nature definitely does some kind of voodoo that allows parents of newborns to continue functioning on WAY too little sleep. Voodoo is the only explanation I have for the fact that I’m still upright and (mostly) coherent.

    But I guess that has to wear off eventually and the Tired sets in. Sounds like you’re just way busy and I bet you’ll feel a lot better when your show is done with. Have a fantastic final weekend and enjoy the applause.

    Reply
  • 9. Sara  |  May 7, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Dude, at least you have that list of reasons. I’m so frikkin’ exhausted and I have no idea why I’m always so tired. I’m sure you’ll feel better when you have a little more time on your hands post-show.

    Reply
  • 10. agirlandaboy  |  May 8, 2010 at 2:02 am

    If we lived closer, we’d come to your show and instead of sending a big bouquet of roses (yellow ones! for friendship!) to your dressing room, we’d send a giant pile of cocaine. That oughta help.

    Reply
  • 11. Snozz « Jive Turkey  |  June 3, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    […] that HOLY ASS, I’m kind of worn out up in this bitch. I’m sorry for bringing this up yet again, because I know blogging about how tired you are is about as compelling as blogging about your […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pittsburgh Bloggers

Categories

Whatchu Twitterin’, Jive Turkey?

Feeds

Archives

I'm Gonna Git You, Flicka!


